Genre: Jazz
Label: Groove Note


Jay McShann What A Wonderful World CD

Jay McShann

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Sound Samples!

The Groove Note Records team of Joe Harley (producer), Mike Ross (engineer) and Ying Tan (executive producer) recently spent several days in Kansas City to record a dozen tunes with the legendary Kansas City bluesman Jay McShann. The new album which is called What A Wonderful World was recorded over three days at the studios of Airborne Audio in Overland Park and featured several ace Kansas City musicians including Alaadeen Ahmad (tenor sax) and Sonny Kenner (guitar).

Jay was in excellent form during the sessions and delivered memorably strong performances of classics like Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You, Blue Monday Piney Brown Blues, Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound, as well as some other McShann originals. Jay also covered a couple of standards including a brilliant and moving rendition of What A Wonderful World and a great instrumental version of Land Of Dreams.

The album was recorded live direct to 2-track and was mastered using Sony's new Direct Stream Digital (DSD) process by Bernie Grundman in Hollywood to produce an album of true audiophile quality sound.

The 180g LP will include a bonus 45 rpm with a version of Until The Real Thing Comes Along, a tribute by top Kansas City jazz vocalist Luqman Hamza to his old friend and colleague Jay McShann.

"Mcshann's best release since the 1940s" Rock & Blues News

"Thank you.... this is good stuff, done right!" Wes Phillips,

"an essential recording......"

1. Piney Brown Blues
2. Cherry Red
3. Just For You
4. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
5. Crazy Legs & Friday Strut
6. Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound
7. Land Of Dreams
8. Lonely Boy Blues
9. Hot Biscuit
10. Blue Monday
11. What A Wonderful World

Customers Also Like