Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Parlophone


Jethro Tull A (A La Mode) The 40th Anniversary Edition 3CD & 3DVD

Jethro Tull

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

40th Anniversary Edition 3CD & 3DVD Set!
The 1980 Album + Associated Tracks, Full 1980 LA Sports Arena Concert & Slipstream Video!
All Remixed by Steven Wilson To Stereo & 5.1 Surround!

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of one of Jethro Tull's most radical musical departures, the group releases a 3CD/3DVD casebound book deluxe edition of A.

After completing its acclaimed folk-rock trilogy in 1979, Jethro Tull returned a year later with A, an album that introduced a different sound and a new line-up. Originally intended as a solo record by the band's founder Ian Anderson, the album's single-letter title refers to the studio tapes, which were marked "A" for Anderson. When the album was finished, the group's label Chrysalis insisted that it be credited to Jethro Tull, even though only two members from the band's previous incarnation were featured: Anderson and guitarist Martin Barre. Despite that, the album and subsequent tour were well-received by fans around the world.

Produced by Anderson and Robin Black, A was recorded in London during the summer of 1980 at Maison Rouge Mobile and Maison Rouge Studios. Along with Anderson and Barre, the band also featured Dave Pegg (bass, mandolin) and Mark Craney (drums), along with guest performer Eddie Jobson - a Roxy Music alumnus - on keyboard, synthesizer and electric violin.

For this new collection, the album has been expanded with five unreleased tracks from the recording sessions, including a different take of the single "Working John, Working Joe", an extended version of "Crossfire" and the outtake "Coruisk".

A: THE 40th ANNIVERSARY EDITION also includes a live recording from November 1980 of the band's full concert at the LA Sports Arena. The performance mixed new A tracks ("Black Sunday", "Batteries Not Included" and "Uniform") with older hits, like "Aqualung", "Heavy Horses" and "Songs From The Wood". A few of these live tracks first appeared in 1981 on Slipstream, a video collection originally released on VHS and Laserdisc. The full Slipstream video, which made its DVD debut in 2004, is also included in this anniversary edition. Here, the content has been newly remixed by Steven Wilson.

Note: The opening content on DVD 3 includes a strobing effect which may affect viewers with photo-sensitive epilepsy or other such conditions.


  • 40th Anniversary Edition
  • 3 CD
  • 3 DVD
  • Casebound Book
  • Original album & associated recordings remixed in DTS & Dolby AC3 5.1 Surround, & stereo 96/24 LPCM by Steven Wilson
  • A full concert from the LA Sports Arena recorded in August 1980 mixed by Steven Wilson in DTS & Dolby AC3 5.1 Surround, & stereo 96/24 LPCM
  • A flat transfer of the original 1980 master at 96/24 LPCM stereo
  • 5 unreleased tracks from the recording sessions (including unreleased track "Coruisk")
  • A DVD of the Slipstream video remixed by Steven Wilson in DTS & Dolby AC3 5.1 Surround, & stereo 96/24 LPCM
  • DVD 9 Region 0 Video / Format NTSC / Aspect Ration 16:9 (titles) & 4:3
  • 104-page book filled with an extensive history of the album, track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, rare photographs & more
  • Made in Germany


CD One: Original Album & Associated Tracks (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix)

  1. Crossfire
  2. Fylingdale Flyer
  3. Working John, Working Joe
  4. Black Sunday
  5. Protect And Survive
  6. Batteries Not Included
  7. Uniform
  8. 4.W.D. (Low Ratio)
  9. The Pine Marten's Jig
  10. And Further On
Associated Tracks:
  1. Crossfire (Extended Version) - Previously Unreleased
  2. Working John, Working Joe (Take 4) - Previously Unreleased
  3. Cheerio (Early Version) - Previously Unreleased
  4. Coruisk - Previously Unreleased
  5. Slipstream Intro

CD Two: Live At The LA Sports Arena, 1980 Part 1 - Previously Unreleased (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix)

  1. Slipstream Introduction
  2. Black Sunday
  3. Crossfire
  4. Songs From The Wood
  5. Hunting Girl
  6. The Pine Marten's Jig
  7. Working John, Working Joe
  8. Heavy Horses
  9. Musicians Introductions
  10. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
  11. Instrumental (Including Flute Solo)

CD Three: Live At The LA Sports Arena, 1980 Part 2 (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix)

  1. Trio Instrumental
  2. Keyboard Solo
  3. Batteries Not Included
  4. Uniform (Including Drum Solo)
  5. Protect And Survive (Including Violin Solo)
  6. Bungle In The Jungle
  7. Encore Intro - Guitar And Bass Instrumental
  8. Aqualung
  9. Locomotive Breath / Instrumental / Black Sunday (Reprise)

DVD One (Audio Only):

Contains Steven Wilson's 2020 remix of the album, and 5 associated tracks (3 in surround), in DTS and Dolby AC3 5.1 surround and stereo 96/24 LPCM and flat transfer of the original LP master in 96/24 LPCM

DVD Two (Audio Only) - Live At The LA Sports Arena, 1980:

Contains Steven Wilson's 2020 mix of the concert in DTS and Dolby AC3 5.1 surround and stereo 96/24 LPCM

DVD Three (Video) - Slipstream:

The Slipstream video with audio tracks remixed by Steven Wilson in DTS and Dolby AC3 5.1 surround and stereo 48/24 LPCM

Customers Also Like