Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Parlophone
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Jethro Tull Aqualung (The 2011 Steven Wilson Remix) 180g LP

Jethro Tull

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
The 2011 Steven Wilson Remix pressed on 180g Vinyl!

1971 saw the release of some of the greatest pop/rock albums of all time: Imagine, Pearl, Sticky Fingers, Who’s Next, Tupelo Honey, Surf’s Up, Fragile, Led Zeppelin's IV, Muswell Hillbillies, Tapestry, What’s Going On? and both Madman Across the Water and Tumbleweed Connection are just some of the iconic titles that hit the stores that year. Add Aqualung and that’s quite an output for a twelve month span.

Generally considered the pinnacle of the band’s recorded output, front-man Ian Anderson’s songwriting was quickly evolving from British folk-blues roots and helping define prog-rock. While definitely pushing the envelope for the era in taking on the subjects of God and organized religion, it was guitarist Martin Barre who was establishing equal ground with Anderson’s flute as an instrumental voice of the band. Joining Tull after Toni Iommi (Black Sabbath) who himself had replaced original guitarist Mick Abrahams (Blodwyn Pig, Mick Abrahams Band) departed after only a few days, both Barre’s opening riffs and lead breaks became indelibly imprinted to generations of classic rock.

Songs such as "My God", "Hymn 43", "Locomotive Breath", "Cross-Eyed Mary", "Wind Up" and of course the title track "Aqualung" became FM radio staples and are in-demand concert favorites to this day.

The 2011 Steven Wilson Remix:
Steven Wilson is musician and producer and is well known as the founder, lead guitarist, singer and songwriter of the progressive rock band Porcupine Tree. Wilson is involved in an ongoing project remixing the back catalogue of King Crimson into MLP (Meridian Lossless Packaging) 5.1 and new stereo mixes. He is also remixing the back catalogue of Jethro Tull, including this one Aqualung, in 2011.

Notes On The New Mixes:
"Ian has stated that the original recording sessions for Aqualung were a struggle to overcome the technical shortcomings of the studio situation the band found themselves in, and it's certainly the case that the original release is more a triumph of writing and performance than it is of sonic excellence. But I was pleased to discover that what was on the multitrack master tapes sounded better than the 1971 mix would suggest. Using the digitally transferred 16 and 8 track tapes we were able to get a lot more tone from the instruments, as well as a much greater sense of depth and clarity in the sonic picture."

"As a long term fan of this music, my aim when remixing a classic album like this is to be faithful to the original, and to stay absolutely true to the spirit of the era in which the music was made. Some cleaing up has been done, but only to the extent that it had zero impact on the audio (after all, a little bit of analogue tape hiss is part of the magic!) No attempt was made to "modernise" the mix, and to this end most of the equalisation, volume levels (and rides), stereo positioning, reverbs, echos and other effects processing are matched as closely as possible to the 1971 mix. The only exceptions to this are that we have brought some instruments in a little from extreme left or right in the stereo specgtrum, and a few details that may have been getting a little lost in the original mix have been given a lift in the new version." - Steven Wilson, 1st July 2011

Gatefold LP featuring 24 page adapted booklet from the previous 2011 40th anniversary set.

• 180g Vinyl
• Gatefold jacket
• 24 Page Adapted Booklet from the previous 2011 40th anniversary set
• The 2011 Steven Wilson Remix

Ian Anderson, flute, vocals
Clive Bunker, drums
Martin Barre, guitar
John Evan, piano, organ
Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond, bass guitar

1. Aqualung
2. Cross Eyed Mary
3. Cheap Day Return
4. Mother Goose
5. Wond'ring Aloud
6. Up To Me
7. My God
8. Hymn
9. Slipstream
10. Locomotive Breath
11. Wind Up

Customers Also Like