Genre: Jazz
Label: ORG Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Jimmy Sweeney Without You LP

Jimmy Sweeney

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Vinyl LP From The Artist Who Inspired Elvis Presley's Earliest Work!
Limited To 1000 Copies!
Rare & Unreleased Tracks!

Rock 'n' Roll's Greatest Mystery Voice Finally Has A Name

The story of this compilation begins with a decades old myth; the "mystery singer" on a 10" acetate demo played to Elvis by Sam Phillips in June of 1954. Phillips, who was unable to ascertain the name of the singer, asked Elvis to sing the song as a debut record. The young, unknown Elvis was daunted by the performance. After attempting to record the song, Elvis felt he could not do it justice, and went on to record "That's All Right."

The demo's existence became an urban myth. The singer was finally identified as Jimmy Sweeney in early 2017 by writer Chris Kennedy, whose suspicions were confirmed by multiple sources, including Jimmy's daughter Eugenia. Sweeney's masterpiece will finally be released under his own name on this compilation. In addition to "Without You," the album features some of Sweeney's best recordings, many of which were never released to the public.

This collection does a huge service for anyone unable to pay collector's prices for Sweeney's various 45s and wanting to hear rarities from his personal archives. The finger-poppin' studio tracks that link Pentecostal church gospel stomp with the sway of country swing are great, but I keep returning to the roughly-recorded demos that highlight Sweeney's spiritual side and, as with the playful a cappella 'Deacon Brown,' his winning sense of humor.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Limited Edition - 1000 Copies
  • Vinyl LP
  • Rare & Unreleased Tracks
  • 12-page booklet with extensive liner notes from writer Chris Kennedy
  • Made in CZ


Side One:

  1. Without You
  2. Deep Blues
  3. I Pay With Every Breath
  4. It Wouldn't Be The Same (Without You)
  5. Desire
  6. Danny Boy
  7. Don't Come In Here
  8. Tobacco Road

Side Two:

  1. Gonna Find My Sweetheart
  2. Flippity Flop
  3. Sick, Sick, Sick
  4. She Wears My Ring
  5. (Where You Lead Me) I'll Follow You
  6. Lunch In A Bucket
  7. Afraid
  8. What'cha Gonna Do About Me
  9. Deacon Brown

Customers Also Like