Joel Fan West of the Sun HDCD

Joel Fan

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Joel Fan’s second album for Reference Recordings, further solidifies his reputation for innovative programming and dazzling keyboard technique. Drawing on composers from North and South America, Fan makes brilliant work of major sonatas by Ginastera and Barber, along with “entertainments” by Gottschalk, Piazzolla and Villa-Lobos. Of particular interest are two little-known works by Amy Beach and the African-American composer Margaret Bonds. Another highlight is the world premiere recording of a recent suite by William Bolcom! Any piano enthusiast will enjoy this wide-ranging recital, recorded at Skywalker Sound by RR’s renowned technical guru, “Prof.” Keith O. Johnson.


1. Vem cá
2. Branquinha

3. Suis Moi! Caprice

4. Flora's Game – Milonga Prelude

Piano Sonata #1

5. Allegro marcato
6.Presto Misterioso
7. Adagio molto appassionato

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959)
8. Chôros No. 5 “Alma Brasileira”

Amy Beach
9. Fire-flies, Op. 15 #4

Margaret Bonds
10. Troubled Water

William Bolcom
Nine New Bagatelles

11. (“...and then what happened?”)
12. (...what happened)
13. (...a bird comments–to another bird?)
14. (...Lord Lovell’s trunk)
15. (...a little story)
16. (...take no prisoners)
17. (...valse oubliable)
18. (...benediction)
19. (...pavane for the dead/hope’s feathers

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Piano Sonata, Op. 26

20. Allegro energico
21. Allegro vivace e leggero
22. Adagio mesto
23. Allegro con spirito

Total Playing Time: 67:17

Customers Also Like