Genre: Pop Rock
Label: ADA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


John Cale Shifty Adventures In Nookie Wood 2LP

John Cale

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
150 Gram Heavyweight Double Vinyl Includes Limited Time MP3 Download Code!

John Cale is a highly respected and revered musician, composer and producer. He’s a founding member of the seminal band the Velvet Underground, is a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and has a 50 plus year career that runs the gamut from classical to rock to experimental to electronic. Shifty Adventures in Nookie Wood is his 16th solo album and his first full length on the Double Six label following the 2011 release of the Extra Playful EP.

Shifty Adventures in Nookie Wood is an album that seems born out of John’s mischievous youth. It is the result of sessions held in his Los Angeles studio. With days spent experimenting with MPCs, pounding fists onto pianos, manipulating glitches and lots of signature viola drone while patiently waiting for songs to reveal themselves. There was also a spontaneous session with Danger Mouse that resulted in the opening track, “I Wanna Talk 2 U.” As a producer Cale has reached a new plateau on this record. He deftly manages to blend equal measures of chaos and beauty gently challenging the listener to join his adventure. He is an ever evolving artist always stepping into new and uncharted sonic realms. As he sung in ‘‘Catastrofuk’’ from 2011’s Double Six EP Extra Playful, “Say hello to the future/ And goodbye to the past/ Hurry up through the present.”

“You have to get out of where you are at the moment, and start afresh, in music and everything else,” Cale ventures. “I’m pretty impatient. I like new awkwardness.”

• 150 Gram Heavyweight DoubleVinyl LP
• Gatefold Jacket
• Limited time MP3 download card

1. I Wanna Talk 2 U
2. Scotland Yard
3. Hemmingway
4. Face To The Sky
5. Nookie Wood
6. December Rains
7. Mary
8. Vampire Cafe
9. Mothra
10. Living With You
11. Midnight Feast
12. Sandman (Flying Dutchman)

Customers Also Like