John Coltrane Another Side Of John Coltrane 180g 2LP

John Coltrane

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Coltrane's Work As A Sideman Chronicled On 180g Vinyl 2LP!
Includes Two Vinyl-Only Bonus Tracks!

This collection showcases some of Coltrane's best recordings as a side artist and features collaborations with such jazz greats as Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Sonny Rollins, Tadd Dameron and Art Taylor. Primarily focusing on Coltrane's recordings as side man from 1956 and 1957 on the Prestige, Riverside and Jazzland labels, it also includes a guest appearance (and legendary tenor saxophone solo) with Miles Davis on the track "Someday My Prince Will Come" (from the 1961 Miles Davis Columbia album of the same title).

The 2-LP vinyl edition contains two extra tracks that are not available on the CD and digital editions: "Nutty" (originally released on the album Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane) and "Birks' Works" (originally released on the Red Garland Quintet album, Soul Junction, featuring John Coltrane and Donald Byrd). The liner notes were written by Doug Ramsey, winner of the Jazz Journalists Association's Lifetime Achievement Award. Ramsey is the author of the award-winning biography Take Five: The Public and Private Lives of Paul Desmond. His other awards include two ASCAP Deems Taylors.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Classic Coltrane sideman performances with fellow jazz legends
  • Mastered by Paul Blakemore at CMG Mastering
  • Lacquers cut by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic
  • New liner notes from award-winning music historian Doug Ramsey
  • 2 Bonus Tracks not available on CD/digital editions
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in France


Disc One

Side A:
  1. Sonny Rollins Quartet - Tenor Madness
  2. Miles Davis And The Modern Jazz Giants - 'Round Midnight
  3. The Miles Davis Quintet - Oleo
Side B:
  1. The Miles Davis Quintet - Airegin
  2. Tadd Dameron With John Coltrane - Soultrane
  3. Art Taylor - C.T.A.
  4. Thelonious Monk - Monk's Mood

Disc Two

Side C:
  1. Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane - Epistrophy (Alternate Take)
  2. Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane - Trinkle, Tinkle
  3. Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane - Nutty (Vinyl-Only Bonus Track)
  4. Red Garland Quintet (featuring John Coltrane And Donald Byrd) - Birks' Works (Vinyl-Only Bonus Track)
Side D:
  1. The Red Garland Quintet With John Coltrane - Billie's Bounce
  2. Miles Davis - Someday My Prince Will Come

Customers Also Like