Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


John Coltrane Coltrane '58: The Prestige Recordings 180g 8LP Set

John Coltrane

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Video Sample!

Prestige 70 Series From Craft Recordings!
180g Vinyl 8LP Set!
Remastered From Original Analog Tapes by Paul Blakemore!
Pressed at RTI!

2019 marks the 70th anniversary of Prestige Records, one of the most revered jazz labels in the world. Throughout the ’50s and ’60s, Prestige was at the forefront of modern jazz, releasing sessions from some of the most influential names in music, including Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Stan Getz, and Sonny Rollins. To honor the history of this pioneering label and its exceptional output, Craft Recordings releases a variety of content throughout the year.

Kicking off the campaign is this box set on 180g vinyl 8LP set which chronicles the saxophonist’s breakout year.

Coltrane’s breakout year, when his mature sound first grabbed ears and his own recordings began to sell consistently, was 1958. This release chronicles the exciting story session by session, featuring all 37 tracks Coltrane recorded as a leader or co-leader for the independent Prestige Records label in those twelve months. This collection captures him in creative high gear—developing the signature improvisational style that journalist Ira Gitler famously dubbed "sheets of sound."

The timely release marks the 70th year since the founding of Prestige and comes just after the 60th anniversary of these recordings.

Includes eight 180-gram LPs, remastered from the original analog tapes by Paul Blakemore (all of which were recorded by renowned engineer Rudy Van Gelder) and cut by Clint Holley from 24-bit/192kHz transfers. The lavish, linen-wrapped, portfolio-style book features an eye-catching design and 40 pages containing extensive liner notes by Grammy-winning American music historian Ashley Kahn, rare ephemera and historical photographs of the saxophonist and his collaborators, including several taken by renowned jazz photographers Francis Wolff and Esmond Edwards.

Featuring Red Garland, Kenny Burrell, Donald Byrd, Paul Chambers, Freddie Hubbard, Art Taylor, Jimmy Cobb and more.

"Arranged in chronological order according to the session dates, this massive and handsomely appointed set is a wonderful deep dive in this early part of Coltrane's career as a bandleader and sideman, even if he doesn't reach the dizzying heights that he reached a year earlier with Blue Train and two years later with Giant Steps. The bulk of these recordings feel simply like he is in practice mode, trying out various combinations and styles to see if they fit. That resulted in pleasant tunes like the 18 minute 'Sweet Sapphire Blues,' which is dominated by [Donald] Byrd and pianist Red Garland, and conflagrations like 'Goldsboro Express,' a Coltrane hard bop original where he's backed up only by bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Art Taylor, which gives him plenty of room to vamp and swing. The joy of a set like this is being able to track Coltrane's artistic progression from the start of one year to its close. In fact, these eight discs work like bookends as the first was taken from a session in January of '58 and the last comes from December. The differences over a 12 month period are subtle but a close listen reveals some extra muscle strength driving the session and improvisation at the end of '58, as well as some melodic decisions that presage his modal period. Combined with the illuminating liner notes from Coltrane biographer Ashley Khan, the music in this set is a treasure." - Robert Ham, Paste Magazine

• 60th Anniversary John Coltrane Chronology
• 180g Vinyl 8LP Set
• Remastered From Original Analog Tapes by Paul Blakemore
• Cut from 192K digital transfers
• Pressed at RTI
• Housed in lavish, linen-wrapped, portfolio-style book featuring an eye-catching design and debossed lettering on cover and spine
• 40 page book contains rare ephemera and extensive liner notes by Grammy-winning American music historian Ashley Kahn
• Historical musician photos by renowned jazz photographers Francis Wolff and Esmond Edwards

John Coltrane, tenor saxophone
Kenny Burrell, guitar
Donald Byrd, trumpet
Paul Chambers, bass
Jimmy Cobb, drums
Tommy Flanagan, piano
Red Garland, piano
Louis Hayes, drums
Wilbur Harden, trumpet, flugelhorn
Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Art Taylor, drums

LP 1:
Side A:

1. Lush Life
2. Come Rain Or Come Shine
Side B:
1. The Believer
2. Nakatini Serenade

LP 2:
Side A:

1. Lover
2. Russian Lullaby
3. Theme For Ernie
4. You Say You Care
Side B:
1. Good Bait
2. I Want To Talk About You

LP 3:
Side A:

1. Lyresto
2. Why Was I Born
3. Freight Trane
4. I Never Knew
Side B:
1. Big Paul
2. I See Your Face Before Me

LP 4:
Side A:

1. Rise And Shine
2. Little Melonae
Side B:
1. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You
2. By The Numbers

LP 5:
Side A:

1. Black Pearls
2. Lover Come Back To Me
Side B:
1. Sweet Sapphire Blues

LP 6:
Side A:

1. Spring is Here
2. Invitation
Side B:
1. I'm A Dreamer (Aren't We All)
2. Love Thy Neighbor

LP 7:
Side A:

1. Don't Take Your Love From Me
2. Stardust
Side B:
1. My Ideal
2. I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You)
3. Do I Love You Because You Are Beautiful?

LP 8:
Side A:

1. Then I'll Be Tired Of You
2. Something I Dreamed Last Night
Side B:
1. Bahia
2. Goldsboro Express
3. Time After Time

Customers Also Like