Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Windstar
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


John Denver Rocky Mountain High (50th Anniversary) LP (Blue Vinyl)

John Denver

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition Blue Vinyl LP!
50th Anniversary of Long Out of Print Classic!
Only 5,000 Copies Pressed!

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Rocky Mountain High album and song, John Denver's Windstar Records is reissuing the album on limited edition blue vinyl. Originally released September 15, 1972, Rocky Mountain High was Denver's first Top 10 album, propelled by the self-titled single. In 2007, the title track was made a state song of Colorado. The album has gone on to earn 2x Platinum status and the title track certified Gold.

In the early 1970s, Denver was one of the first artists to share an environmental message through his music, and fans responded. John understood that responsibility came with having a public voice. The album's iconic namesake "Rocky Mountain High" was written while Denver was camping in the Rocky Mountains during the Perseid Meteor Shower, with lyrics expressing the love and wonder John Denver felt for his adopted state of Colorado, and speaking of environmental sustainability. Released while war was raging in Vietnam, the album's second single "Prisoners" tells a story of prisoners of war. The album also features Denver's take on songs by The Beatles and John Prine, and the five-part Season Suite finds reflection through the seasons.

For a full decade and change, John Denver was one of the biggest stars on the planet, pissing off the country music establishment and securing a place in the soft rock pantheon with his cable knit vocals and the comforting glow of his arrangements. Adding fuel to this cozy campfire early on was his sixth studio album, released 50 years ago and reissued this month on blue vinyl, and its indelible title track 'Rocky Mountain High,' both of which hit the top 10 in the U.S. If all you know of this record is that tune, there is much more within to sink one's teeth into... Denver's LPs are ubiquitous in used record shops for a reason. He struck a chord in the global populace that is resonating as loudly as ever.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Limited Edition - 5,000 Copies
  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • Blue Vinyl


Side 1:

  1. Rocky Mountain High
  2. Mother Nature's Son
  3. Paradise
  4. For Baby (For Bobbie)
  5. Darcy Farrow
  6. Prisoners

Side 2:

  1. Goodbye Again
Season Suite
  1. Summer
  2. Fall
  3. Winter
  4. Late Winter, Early Spring (When Everybody Goes to Mexico)
  5. Spring

Customers Also Like