Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Republic
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


John Mellencamp Orpheus Descending LP

John Mellencamp

$29.99 $36.99
(You save $7.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

25th Full-Length Studio Album on Vinyl LP!
One of the Best Songwriters of His Generation!
Featuring Standout Tracks "Hey God" & "The Eyes of Portland"!

With a career spanning over 40 years, musician, artist and activist John Mellencamp releases his 25th full-length studio album Orpheus Descending via Republic Records. It was recorded at his own Belmont Mall Studio and produced by Mellencamp. The album is one of the most personal to date for the outspoken artist as he continues to show that he's one of the best songwriters of his generation, focusing on social issues with standout songs "Hey God" and "The Eyes of Portland."

While in the midst of his massive Live and In Person 2023 North American tour, Mellencamp performed songs from the new LP during his live set. The Chicago Tribune says, "Awash in death, 'Hey God' functioned as a plea for deliverance from senseless gun violence. Preceded by a story about his encounter with a 20-something homeless woman, the solo acoustic 'The Eyes of Portland' took aim at the empty 'thoughts and prayers' condolences offered as a solution to major tragedies and dilemmas." LA Weekly describes the performances as "authentic, grounded and painfully honest."

The unique instrumentation of Mellencamp's band and his poignant songs about everyday life in the American heartland are widely credited with being the forbearer of the Americana/No Depression genre of rural-inflected music. Mellencamp continues his journey as the walking embodiment of heartland rock: passionate, plain-spoken and a self-proclaimed rebel.

Mellencamp is absolutely uncompromising and unyielding as an artist.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering
  • Cover Painting by Speck Mellencamp
  • Explicit Content


  1. Hey God
  2. The Eyes of Portland
  3. The So-Called Free
  4. The Kindness of Lovers
  5. Amen
  6. Orpheus Descending
  7. Understated Reverence
  8. One More Trick
  9. Lightning and Luck
  10. Perfect World
  11. Backbone

Customers Also Like