Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


John Mooney John Mooney 200g D2D LP

John Mooney

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
AAPO 020
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Recorded At Blue Heaven Studios During Blues Masters at the Crossroads 2010!
200g VinylCut By Kevin Gray , Engineered by Katsu Naito & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

The first and most enduring influence on the development of upstate New York native John Mooney’s music resulted from his meeting the legendary Son House in Rochester, New York. Impressed by the 16-year-old musician’s talent, House eventually took Mooney under his wing. Mooney pays tribute to his legendary mentor with two House covers for this gritty, drenched-with-emotion recording.

Mooney’s style incorporates both savage energy and sensitivity, all in the bag of traditional blues. He’s a dynamic guitarist with a special talent for slide playing, and he’s a commanding vocalist. His discography, dating back to 1979’s Comin’ Your Way for Blind Pig, includes more than 12 titles on eight difference labels. But hearing him on direct-to-disc LP, recorded totally stripped down and natural, live in a church sanctuary, is truly the closest thing to hearing him in person. In fact, with the right hi-fi, it’s utterly spooky how in-person this recording sounds.

• From 2010 Direct To Disc Sessions
• 200g Vinyl
• Cut by Kevin Gray
• Engineered by Katsu Naito
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Recorded at Blue Heaven Studios

Side A:

1. Lovin' Mood
2. Death Letter
3. Dirty Rat
Side B:
1. It Don't Mean A Doggone Thing
2. Eliza
3. The Pony Blues

Customers Also Like