Label: Legacy
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: June Carter Carl Perkins
Format: 33RPM,


Johnny Cash At Folsom Prison LP

Johnny Cash

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal

Reissue Of 1968 Live Album On Vinyl LP!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 164/500!

The show itself is a classic! Johnny (an ex-con himself) and his top notch band, featuring Carl Perkins on guitar, have the 2,000 prisoners in the hall eating out of the palms of their hands as they storm through a set comprising of prison songs, Cash originals, and covers such as Lefty Frizzell's "Long Black Veil" to the obvious delight of the audience, the chilling lyrics to a lot of the songs offset by Cash's dark sense of humor.

You can just imagine how the prisoners must have felt as they heard songs about train journeys to far away places, and if that wasn't bad enough, the rise in temperature is tangible as June Carter joins her future husband for a rendition of "Jackson". The only thing stopping the inmates from thinking that they had died and gone to heaven is the constant announcements on the prison tannoy system (talk about being brought back down to earth with a bump). This fabulous show ends fittingly with a song written by Glen Sherley, an inmate doing time at Folsom prison.

American roots music doesn't get any better than this!

Dressed in his trademark black on January 13th, 1968, he paradoxically celebrated prison and outlaw life while creating a damning portrait of the prison experience that pricked the era's concern for society's outcasts.
-Rolling Stone


  • Vinyl LP


Side 1:

  1. Folsom Prison Blues
  2. Dark As The Dungeon
  3. I Still Miss Someone
  4. Cocaine Blues
  5. 25 Minutes To Go
  6. Orange Blossom Special
  7. The Long Black Veil

Side 2:

  1. Send A Picture Of Mother
  2. The Wall
  3. Dirty Old Egg-Sucking Dog
  4. Flushed From The Bathroom Of Your Heart
  5. Jackson - with June Carter
  6. Give My Love To Rose- with June Carter
  7. I Got Stripes
  8. Green, Green Grass Of Home
  9. Greystone Chapel

Customers Also Like