Jose Feliciano Behind This Guitar (Deluxe) LP

Jose Feliciano

$4.99 $29.99
(You save $25.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition Deluxe Vinyl LP With 2 Bonus Tracks!
Includes A Duet With Dolly Parton & A Reimagined "Feliz Navidad"!

The title track on José Feliciano's 2019 album Behind This Guitar sums up, with uncanny accuracy, the still-unfolding career of this remarkable and singular figure in American musical culture of the last half-century. Puerto Rican by birth, a New Yorker (Spanish Harlem) from his childhood, José Feliciano has been a fact of American musical life since his breakthrough at the height of the Sixties - the golden age of American pop and rock music.

Behind This Guitar brings the singer/guitarist full circle with producer and old friend Rick Jarrard, whom RCA Victor assigned to produce the very young Feliciano in the late 1960s. It was Jarrard who convinced Feliciano to record The Doors' "Light My Fire" for their album Feliciano! - the record that made him a household name in 1968. Two years later, in the midst of recording a Christmas album, it was Jarrard who told Feliciano they needed a new song and encouraged Feliciano as he virtually improvised the enduring classic "Feliz Navidad".

Feliciano already had a distinctive international career when "Light My Fire" catapulted him to real pop superstardom. It was a song no one much wanted him to record except Jarrard. It was even the "B" side of the single from Feliciano! ("California Dreamin'" was the "A" side). The rest is history. The recording won Feliciano a 1968 Grammy Award® for his performance, the same year he won the Grammy for Best New Artist of the Year.

Together again for Behind This Guitar, artist and producer have rediscovered their rhythm, in collaborating on the first album Feliciano has ever recorded in Nashville. The Deluxe LP features two bonus tracks: "Eagle When She Flies", his first-ever duet with Dolly Parton, and "Feliz Navidad 50th Anniversary (FN50)", a reimagined rerecording of his bilingual holiday classic.

To date, José Feliciano has won nine Grammy Awards including Lifetime Achievement honors, plus multiple other nominations. He has released more than 60 albums in both English and Spanish, on a variety of labels, collaborating with an extraordinary array of artists. He toured the world (and continues to), maintaining a vibrant presence in the Latin music world, and even became a fixture in American television with the theme song he recorded in 1974 for the hit series Chico And The Man. In 2000, Feliciano was named a Grammy Legend and, a decade later, "Feliz Navidad" entered the Grammy Hall of Fame.


  • Limited Edition Deluxe
  • Vinyl LP
  • 2 Bonus Tracks


  1. I'm America (feat. Virginia Union University Choir)
  2. Behind This Guitar
  3. The Itch
  4. Love One Another
  5. Smokey Places
  6. Just Because
  7. The Chain
  8. Feliz Navidad 50th Anniversary (FN50) (feat. CNCO, Isabela Merced, Shaggy, Jon Secada, Jason Mraz, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Rachael Ray, Gloria Gaynor, Big & Rich, Michael Bolton, Los Temeraios, Emannuel, Isabella Castillo, Jencarlos Canela, PItingo, Patricia Manterola, Jesus Molina, La India, Julio Iglesias Jr., Tony Carreira, Bertin Osborne, Pablo Montero, El Dasa, Nikki Vianna, Adam Irigoyen, Gord Bamford, Leo Dan, Frankie J, Sam Moore, Styx)
  9. Eagle When She Flies (feat. Dolly Parton)

Customers Also Like