Genre: Blues
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Junior Kimbrough First Recordings 12" Vinyl EP

Junior Kimbrough

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming April 30, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

1966 Recording From Major Bluesman Kimbrough!
1st Time On 12" Vinyl!

2021 Reissue of the classic Junior Kimbrough First Recordings release from Big Legal Mess / Fat Possum. First time on 12" vinyl with two additional takes from the original sessions.

Guitarist and singer Junior Kimbrough was one of the deepest of the deep bluesmen, like his colleague R.L. Burnside he came from the hill country of Mississippi. Stark music with deep primal rhythms and drones, his music is very powerful and hypnotic. Kimbrough ran a juke joint that was the focal point of the local blues scene and was prominently featured in Robert Palmer's documentary Deep Blues and in the founding of the influential Fat Possum record label.

This is a short EP featuring the earliest tracks he recorded for the label. Some of the standard Kimbrough tunes that he would play for the rest of his career are here like the very potent "Done Got Old" which is an unflinching look at age over a primal beat and slashing guitar. "Meet Me In The City" is emotional and stark in nature, but at the same time quite beautiful. This makes for a fine introduction to Kimbrough's unique blend of blues and the music that made the hill country of Mississippi so unique in American music.

Recorded by Quinton Claunch at American Studios, Memphis, TN 1966.


  • 12" Vinyl EP
  • 1st Time On 12" Vinyl
  • 2 Additional Takes From The Original Sessions


  1. Lonesome In My Home
  2. Feels So Good #1
  3. Meet Me In The City
  4. Feels So Bad
  5. Done Got Old
  6. Meet Me In The City (Alternate Take)
  7. Feels So Good #2
  8. Feels So Bad (Alternate Take)

Customers Also Like