Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Karrin Allyson Footprints Numbered Limited Edition 180g 2LP (Black Vinyl)

Karrin Allyson

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out Of Print! Only 1 Copy Available!

Half-Speed Mastered by Stan Ricker!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Grammy nominated singer Karrin Allyson has never been satisfied merely to repeat herself. With Footprints she fulfills the dream of recording with two of her vocal heroes — Jon Hendricks and Nancy King — while illustrating that she too is undeniably one of today’s most distinctive and masterful jazz vocal stylists. The album also introduces Chris Caswell, whose literate, inventive new lyrics bring fresh perspectives to several of the modern jazz perennials featured herein. With a spirit that is, by turns, ebullient and affecting: Footprints shows Karrin Allyson to be a pacesetter among contemporary jazz singers.

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• 1/2 Speed Mastering by Stan Ricker
• Deluxe HQ-180 Gram Double Vinyl
• Gatefold Jacket
• Audiophile Inner Sleeves
• Pressed at RTI
• Black Vinyl

Karrin Allyson- vocals, piano (LP1-6), shaker (LP1-1)
Jon Hendricks - vocals (LP1-5,LP2-6), whistle solo (LP1-5)
Nancy King - vocals (LP1-2,4,7, LP2-1,2,6)
Bruce Barth - piano, Fender Rhodes (LP1-6)
Peter Washington - bass
Todd Strait - drums
Frank Wess - tenor saxophone (LP1-3, LP2-3), flute (LP2-4)
Nick Phillips - trumpet (LP1-7)

LP 1
1. Something Worth Waiting For (Con Alma)
2. All You Need to Say (Never Say Yes)
3. Lightning (Lazy Bird)
4. A Long Way to Go (Equinox)
5. Strollin’
6. I Found the Turnaround (The Turnaround)
7. Follow the Footprints (Footprints)
LP 2
1. Life Is a Groove (Jordu)
2. A Tree and Me
3. I Can’t Say (Teaneck)
4. But I Was Cool
5. Give Me a Break (Unit 7)
6. Everybody’s Boppin’
Bonus Tracks:
7. The Duke
8. Airegin

Product Reviews:
"Of all the jazz divas singing today, Karrin Allyson reminds me the most of a mother singing lullabies to her child. She has one of the most tender, knowing voices I’ve ever heard. Each song she sings sounds as if she is giving a private recital. Footprints is Karrin Allyson’s dream album. Not only did she get the chance to sing with musicians she had long admired, such as bassist Peter Washington, tenor sax man Frank Wess, and vocalists Jon Hendricks and Nancy King, but she was able to create a vocal album from numbers that had been strictly instrumental." - John Crossett,

"Another aspect of Footprints that aids in the intimate feel is the sound. The LP is half-speed mastered by the legendary Stan Ricker, so you hear Allyson’s voice with startling realism. This album exudes a quiet, confident sound that transports the listener to Sear Sound Recording Studio, where Allyson made this recording for Concord Records. The four dead-silent 180-gram surfaces allow all information embedded in the grooves to blossom -- yes, this is another of those single albums stretched over four sides. Combine all this with a wide, deep soundstage, excellent tonal balance, and good timbre and you get instruments that bloom fully in your listening room." - John Crossett,

"Pure Audiophile’s practice of stretching a single album out over four LP sides ensures that all the music in the grooves -- from the deepest bass notes to the highest treble transient -- comes alive. Yes, you might think these records are a tad on the expensive side, but when you factor in all you get for your money the cost doesn’t seem at all out of line. This version of Footprints is poised to become an instant audiophile classic. Don’t miss it." - John Crossett,