Genre: Jazz
Label: Groove Note


Kei Akagi New Smiles And Traveled Miles CD

Kei Akagi

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Out Of Print! Only a few copies left!

Click Here for Sound Samples!

Please take a few moments to read the extended information on this product. When you're done, feel free to listen to the sound samples at the bottom of this page. Thank you!

Groove Note Records is proud to announce the release of its fourth title, Kei Akagi - New Smiles and Traveled Miles.

"...the first essential piano recording of the new millenium." -- Thomas Conrad, Stereophile, February 2001.

Kei, a leading West Coast jazz pianist, played with Miles Davis for two years and was Miles' last regular keyboard player. This album is a tribute to that relationship and features a mix of tunes associated with Miles Davis as well as a couple of original Akagi compositions.

Kei's longest current association is with tenor giant Stanley Turrentine. He has also toured with Art Pepper, Blue Mitchell, Eddie Harris, Al DiMeola and Airto Moreia. This recording is his third under his own name. He has also recently made other recordings on Mesa BlueMoon and AudioQuest. Kei was also the pianist arranger on the very first Groove Note album Jacintha- Here's To Ben (GRV1001) and Autumn Leaves (GRV1006)

Drummer Joe LaBarbera needs no introduction. He has been a stalwart of the jazz scene for many years and is best known for his long time association with pianist Bill Evans, with whom LaBarbera performed and recorded with right up until the famed pianist's death.

Bassist Darek Oleszkiewicz performs regularly with Brad Mehldau's trio and co-leads the Los Angeles Jazz Quartet who have a new recording on Naxos. He also plays bass on Jacintha - Here's To Ben.

This will be one of the most stunning sounding jazz albums of the year -- audiophile or non-audiophile!!!

The album will be released on the following formats: 180g audiophile vinyl LP (with bonus 45 rpm); 24K/24-bit audiophile Gold CD; Regular CD; Sony Super Audio CD (SACD)

1. Traveled Miles
2. Petit Machins
3. Love For Sale
4. Milestones - 1947
5. Milestones - 1955
6. Stella by Starlight
7. The Sorcerer
8. I Thought About You
9. Crosslinks
10. Yesterdreams
11. New Smiles
12. Mr Pastorius

Customers Also Like