Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Mercury
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners Too-Rye-Ay: As It Should Have Sounded LP

Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

40th Anniversary Remix on Vinyl LP!
Classic Sophomore Album Reissued "As It Should Have Sounded"!

To tie in with the 40th anniversary of their multi-platinum selling second album, Dexy's Midnight Runners present Too-Rye-Ay "as it should have sounded": a new edition of the landmark record.

Kevin Rowland was never happy with the final mix of the album, which was first released by Mercury Records in July 1982, despite its huge commercial success. So with Helen O'Hara, and Pete Schwier they decided to mix it again.

Kevin Rowland said: "For many years, I've been haunted by the mixing on Too Rye Ay. It wasn't as good as it should've been! and I knew it. It was nowhere near as musical as it should've sounded. When the album was finished, I knew it wasn't right, and asked the label for more money to do some more mixing. They said, no that's it, the budget is spent. And I had to live with it. Of course, tracks like '...Eileen' and one or two others turned out great, but most of the album was not mixed to the standard it should've been, and not mixed to the standard the performances and songs deserved.

"Finally, we were able to right that wrong this year. The fact that it's a 40th anniversary of the albums' initial release means absolutely nothing to me. It was purely an opportunity to remix the tracks, which we did with the masterful Pete Schwier, who has worked with us since Don't Stand Me Down. Helping me evaluate the mixes and making suggestions on how to improve them, was the brilliant Helen O'Hara. Finally, it sounds like the album it was always meant to be."

Producer Pete Schwier adds: "All the material on the remix is from the original recordings, nothing new has been added. Some of the arrangements were changed, for example: on 'Plan B' we moved the brass to come in earlier and the 'girl' talking was replaced with Kevin's, which he recorded at the time.

"On 'Liars A to E' we brought the backing vocals down an octave in places, as Kevin felt they were too high and on 'Until I Believe in My Soul', we replaced the 'penny whistle' on the intro with Jim's trombone, also recorded at the time. The remix itself was quite straightforward - trying to bring as much emotion as possible to the songs, and because technology has advanced so much a lot of pops, noises and artefacts that were on the original multi-tracks we were able to clean up.

"The brief was to create an alternative mix, keeping the spirit of the original recordings and shed new light on some of these great songs. I hope this has been achieved."

The album's cover has also been re-modelled, using the preferred image from the "Come On Eileen" single sleeve.

The album is best known for the multi-million selling single "Come On Eileen" - a number one hit around the globe including the US and UK. This perennial favorite includes the refrain that inspired the album's title. It also features the hit singles "Show Me", "Liars A to E", "The Celtic Soul Brothers" and "Jackie Wilson Said".


  • Vinyl LP
  • 40th Anniversary Remix - "As It Should Have Sounded"
  • Alternate Album Cover
  • Original Inner Sleeve Artwork
  • Made in Poland


Side One:

  1. The Celtic Soul Brothers
  2. Let's Make This Precious
  3. All in All (This One Last Wild Waltz)
  4. Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile)
  5. Old

Side Two:

  1. Plan B
  2. I'll Show You
  3. Liars A to E
  4. Until I Believe in My Soul
  5. Come On Eileen

Customers Also Like