King Crimson Starless And Bible Black CD/DVD-A (40th Anniversary)

King Crimson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
40th Anniversary CD/DVD-Audio Includes 5.1 Surround Mixes!
Mixed From Original Studio Masters by Steve Wilson!

Starless and Bible Black is a classic 1974 release by King Crimson containing many satires and commentaries on the materialism of society. Several songs were recorded live in concert with the applause edited out. The only songs recorded entirely in the studio were "The Great Deceiver" and "Lament".

The phrase "Starless and bible black" is a quotation from the poet Dylan Thomas's play, Under Milk Wood. 

The classic album has been mixed for 5.1 Surround Sound from the original studio masters by Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) & is fully approved by Crimson founder Robert Fripp.

The CD features a completely new stereo album mix by Robert Fripp & Steven Wilson. The CD also features extra tracks, some previously unreleased, including the full version of The Law of Maximum Distress/The Mincer improv, a 1973 live version of Dr. Diamond (always popular live but never recorded by the band in the studio) & a restored audio bootleg recording of the extremely rare, performed once only, "Guts On My Side".

The DVD-Audio (compatible with all DVD players & DVD Rom players) features a 5.1 DTS Mix and High Resolution Stereo Mixes (24bit/48kHz).

DVD-A players can, additionally, access a 5.1 Lossless audio mix and Lossless Stereo mixes (24bit/96kHz). DVD-A features both the original album mix and the new album mix in High Resolution stereo. The DVD-A also features video footage of Easy Money and an improv from New York'
s Central Park, 1973.

Also found on the DVD-A are a number of audio extras including the extra tracks featured on the CD, further live recordings all in high resolution audio + radio edits of "The Night Watch" from the USA & original radio adverts from 1973.

Presented as a 2 x digi-pack format in a slipcase with new diary entries by Robert Fripp made during the mastering session for the album & new sleeve notes by King Crimson biographer Sid Smith along with rare photos & archive material.

• 40th Anniversary CD plus DVD-A
• NTSC, Region 0
• Digi-pack in slipcase
• New diary entries by Robert Fripp from the mastering session
• New sleeve notes by biographer Sid Smith
• Rare photos
• Archive material
Exclusive DVD-A Material:
• Full Album DVD-A
• MLP Lossless 5.1 24-bit/96kHz Surround Sound DVD-Audio
• MLP Lossless 2.0 24-bit/96kHz Stereo DVD-Audio
• DTS 5.1 24-bit/48kHz Digital Surround DVD-Audio & DVD Video
• LPCM 2.0 24-bit/48kHz Stereo DVD-Audio & DVD Video
• DVD-A is compatible with all DVD players & DVD Rom players
• DVD contains first generation film footage live in Central Park NY, 1973, plus almost an hour's worth of high resolution audio extras including the debut disc release for the performed once only song Guts On My Side

CD - 2011 Stereo Mix:

1. The Great Deceiver
2. Lament
3. We'll Let You Know
4. The Night Watch
5. Trio
6. The Mincer
7. Starless & Bible Black
8. Fracture

Bonus Tracks:
9. The Law of Maximum Distress: Part 1
10. Improv: The Mincer
11. The Law of Maximum Distress: Part 2
12. Dr. Diamond (Live, June 23rd 1973)
13. Guts On My Side (Live, March 19th 1974)

DVD - Audio Content:
Orginal Album remixed in MLP Lossless 5.1 Surround, DTS 5.1 Digital Surround
Original album mix (30th Anniversary Edition) 2011 Stereo Album Mix in MLP Lossless Stereoo (24/96), PCM Stereo 2.0 (24/48)
Live in Zurich and Additional Tracks in PCM Stereo 2.0 (24/48)

Video Content (Audio mono)
1. Easy Money
2. Fragged Dusty Wall Carpet

Customers Also Like