Genre: R&B
Label: Be With
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Lewis Taylor The Lost Album Import 2LP

Lewis Taylor

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming June 30, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

First Time on Vinyl! Double LP!
Mastered by Simon Francis!
Cut by Cicely Balston at AIR Studios!

Lewis Taylor's legendary magnum opus The Lost Album was the intended follow-up to his first album, but Island rejected it for fear of "confusing" the marketplace and its conception of Lewis as a soul artist. It's a breezy sunset masterpiece.

The genesis of this incredible record needs unpicking a bit. Lewis stopped promoting the first album after a year and went home to record a completely different record that was the most un-R&B album you could probably ever hear. Thankfully, Lewis and longtime partner Sabina Smyth revisited the scrapped demo tracks in 2003. They decided to re-arrange, re-record and then self-release them. So, it was that the brand-new version of The Lost Album finally dropped in late 2004.

The Lost Album was a fully 50/50 collaboration between Lewis and Smyth. It's not straight up "soul music" in the vein of his previous work. Yet, in its perfectly formed suite of one dozen songs, The Lost Album is dripping in soul. It features deep, fresh imprints on well-loved, accessible sounds. It's a proper '70s style double album.

Deep orchestral opener "Lost" is a sublime, harp-laced, string drenched gem, a cinematic, melancholic Axelrod-esque mini-epic. Written by Smyth, it evokes Donny Hathaway's celestial "I Love the Lord, He Heard My Cry" from Extensions of a Man. The only problem is the brief 90 seconds running time. It segues into the classic Brian Wilson-meets-power-pop-rock splendor of "Listen Here" which, with its outstanding extended harp-licked, beatless intro, sounds like the younger cousin to Boston's "More Than a Feeling." You then drift into the ringing guitars of classic '70s rock anthem "Hide Your Heart Away." A new version of the heart-stopping, shoulda-been-a-massive-pop-hit "Send Me an Angel" opens Side B before the arrival of "Leader of the Band," soaring, piano-led Rundgren-esque power pop that makes the hairs on the back of your next stand on end. The simple jangly brilliance meets experimental prog-rock of "Yeah" sounds like simultaneously like prime CSNY and late-'90s Radiohead.

Downlifting stunner "Please Help Me If You Can" and the warm textures and brilliant atmospherics of goosebump-inducer "Let's Hope Nobody Finds Us" are reminiscent of The Beach Boys' Holland. Closing out this remarkable side of music is the accidentally Balearic "New Morning." The final side opens with the vaguely Beatlesesque "Say I Love You." It's just classic, soaring pop-rock songwriting. The sassy, Stonesy swagger of "See My Way" injects enough rock 'n' roll attitude to compensate for the rest of the record's peace-loving, AOR sun-dappled vibe. Album closer, "One More Mystery," comes on initially like a baroque-pop George Harrison before piling crunching drums and screeching guitar solos.

Mastered by Simon Francis. Cut by Cicely Balston for Alchemy at AIR Studios.


  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Mastered by Simon Francis
  • Cut by Cicely Balston for Alchemy at AIR Studios
  • Pressed at Record Industry
  • Import


Side A:

  1. Lost
  2. Listen Here
  3. Hide Your Heart Away

Side B:

  1. Send Me an Angel
  2. Leader of the Band
  3. Yeah

Side C:

  1. Please Help Me If You Can
  2. Let's Hope Nobody Finds Us
  3. New Morning

Side D:

  1. Say I Love You
  2. See My Way
  3. One More Mystery

Customers Also Like