Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Cleopatra
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Liquid Tension Experiment Liquid Tension Experiment 180g 2LP (Purple & Green Haze Splatter Vinyl)

Liquid Tension Experiment

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Band's 1998 Debut On 180g 2LP!
Pressed On Limited Edition Purple & Green Haze Splatter Vinyl!

Dream Theater members Mike Portnoy (drums) and John Petrucci (guitars) were joined by King Crimson's Tony Levin (bass) and keyboard phenomenon Jordan Rudess to participate in the "Liquid Tension Experiment." This totally unscientific experience took place in the fall of 1997 in Upstate New York during what Mike Portnoy called "one of the craziest, most stressful and, yet, simultaneously beautiful, magical and most creative weeks of my life." Portnoy, Petrucci, Levin and Rudess got together to create some of the most exciting and innovative progressive rock heard in the last 25 years.

The players are all world-class, with their pedigree being undeniable. Dream Theater's appeal has been proved by their wildly enthusiastic fan base throughout the world. Portnoy and Petrucci wanted to take the musicality of DT a step further without being restricted by major label commercial concerns. Levin has always been one to want to explore the outer limits of musical creativity. Witness his stellar career playing with everyone from John Lennon to Peter Gabriel to Bozzio Levin Stevens. Tony wants to leave his musical mark on the planet and he certainly takes another step forward with Liquid Tension Experiment. Jordan Rudess has long been known amongst musicians as one of the finest keyboard players on the planet. He has performed with Jan Hammer, The Dregs and his own recording project, Rudess Morgenstein (with drum ace, Rod Morgenstein).

*Caution*: "Three Minute Warning" is not for the musically faint-hearted, impatient, or critics of extreme self-indulgence. If you fall into any of the above categories, please stop your turntable after track #8.

The above warning is issued in a tongue-in-cheek manner by Portnoy on the back of LTE's package. Following 8 action-packed tracks is the inaccurately titled "Three Minute Warning." Twenty-eight and a half minutes of a musical white-knuckle ride takes the listener through so many mood changes that it becomes hard to believe that this jam was cut totally live in the studio. To reinforce that reality is the fact that the 24-track master tape ran out during the recording of this song, but the ending was captured by Portnoy's always-recording DAT recorder.

The music on Liquid Tension Experiment is primarily improvised and covers a lot of stylistic ground. But it never stops rocking. There is a consistent heaviness throughout the album which never allows it to leave the realm of hard rock no matter where the musical landscape goes. Mike Portnoy's playing is stimulating but relentless. John Petrucci wrings emotion out of his guitar at every turn but never ceases to be melodic. Tony Levin coaxes sounds from his instruments that do not seem possible. Jordan Rudess' amazing technique never overshadows his ability to write cohesive and moving songs.

Joining the fun was Dream Theater producer Kevin Shirley who handled the album's mix. Kevin's recent successes with Journey and Silverchair were both great in their commercial and sonic achievement. Kevin felt that Liquid Tension Experiment was an album in which he wanted to participate because of its high artistic credibility. He was able to bring a clarity and separation to the instruments and yet still allow them to blend with a powerful "group" sound.

Liquid Tension Experiment is a resounding success.


  • Limited Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Purple & Green Haze Splatter Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold Jacket


Side One:

  1. Paradigm Shift
  2. Osmosis
  3. Kindred Spirits

Side Two:

  1. The Stretch
  2. Freedom Of Speech
  3. Chris And Kevin's Excellent Adventure
  4. State Of Grace

Side Three:

  1. Universal Mind
  2. Three Minute Warning Pt. 1*

Side Four:

  1. Three Minute Warning Pt. 2*

Customers Also Like