Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: John Cale
Format: 33RPM,


Lou Reed Words & Music, May 1965 LP (Bright Yellow Vinyl)

Lou Reed

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Bright Yellow Vinyl LP!
Inaugural Release in Light in the Attic's Lou Reed Archive Series!
Early Lou Reed Demos! All Tracks Previously Unreleased!
Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by John Baldwin!
Pressed at RTI!

"To hear a tape containing their earliest demos, recorded on May 11, 1965, and locked away until now, is to hear traces of things rarely associated with The Velvet Underground: blues and folk, earthy and traditional, uncertain and hesitant...yet bristling with that rusty, caustic, Lou Reed spirit. It is a revelation." - Will Hodgkinson, MOJO

Light in the Attic Records, in cooperation with Laurie Anderson, proudly announces the inaugural title in their ongoing Lou Reed Archive Series: Words & Music, May 1965. Released in tandem with the late artist's 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America's true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs - penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a "poor man's copyright" - remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou's lasting influence on the development of modern American music - from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.

Featuring contributions from Reed's future bandmate John Cale, Words & Music, May 1965 presents the earliest-known recordings of such historic songs as "Heroin," "I'm Waiting for the Man," and "Pale Blue Eyes" in their entirety - all of which Reed would eventually record and make indelibly influential with the Velvet Underground. Also included are several more previously unreleased compositions that offer additional insight into Reed's creative process and early influences. Produced by Laurie Anderson, Don Fleming, Jason Stern, Hal Willner, and Matt Sullivan, the album features newly remastered audio from the original tapes by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin. Rounding out the package are new liner notes from acclaimed journalist and author Greil Marcus, plus in-depth archival notes from Don Fleming and Jason Stern, who oversee the Lou Reed Archive, while the release has been designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike.


  • Limited Edition
  • Light in the Attic Lou Reed Archive Series
  • Early Lou Reed Demos
  • Bright Yellow Vinyl LP
  • All Tracks Previously Unreleased
  • Produced in Partnership with Laurie Anderson & the Lou Reed Archive
  • Earliest-Known Recordings of "I'm Waiting for the Man," "Pale Blue Eyes," & "Heroin"
  • Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by John Baldwin
  • Package Designed by Masaki Koike
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Saddle-Stitched 28-Page Booklet with Lyrics, Archival Photos & Liner Notes by Greil Marcus, Don Fleming & Jason Stern
  • OBI Strip
  • Produced by Laurie Anderson, Don Fleming, Jason Stern, Hal Willner & Matt Sullivan


Side A:

  1. I'm Waiting for the Man
  2. Men of Good Fortune
  3. Heroin
  4. Too Late
  5. Buttercup Song

Side B:

  1. Walk Alone
  2. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  3. Pale Blue Eyes
  4. Stockpile
  5. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams

Customers Also Like