Genre: Jazz
Label: Universal


Louis Armstrong What a Wonderful World Numbered Limited Edition SHM-XRCD

Louis Armstrong

Availability: Expected On 05-31-2024
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Legendary "Satchmo" on Numbered, Limited Edition SHM-XRCD!

Born and raised in New Orleans, trumpeter Louis Armstrong - also known as "Satchmo", "Satch" and "Pops" - was one of the most influential figures in jazz, with a career spanning five decades. With his instantly recognizable rich, gravelly voice, Armstrong was also an influential singer, demonstrating great dexterity as an improviser, bending the lyrics and melody of a song for expressive purposes. Armstrong is renowned for his charismatic stage presence and voice almost as much as for his trumpet playing. Armstrong's influence extends well beyond jazz, and by the end of his career in the 1960s, he was widely regarded as a profound influence on popular music in general.

The song "What a Wonderful World" was first recorded by Louis Armstrong and released in 1967 as a single, which topped the pop charts in the United Kingdom. His recording was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999. ABC Records issued the album What a Wonderful World in 1968. It was issued by Stateside Records in the UK where it charted at No. 37.

SHM-XRCD (Super High Material XRCD) is the ultimate XRCD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as XRCD.

Why XRCD? Besides being the world's foremost CD manufacturing technology, XRCD ensures no loss of information through mastering in a 24bit domain and direct conversion to 16bit master disc production. Listen and hear the difference!

Helmed by legendary producer Bob Thiele, this 1968 recording ushered Louis Armstrong into his later days as a pop vocalist. Here, the trumpet that drove Armstrong's early Hot Fives and Sevens is more subdued as his familiar gravelly voice takes center stage. Showcasing the powerful title track as well as several cheery pop favorites, Armstrong's prowess as an interpreter of song is unmistakable during these recordings, despite his rapidly failing health. Satchmo's amiable presence carries this recording through a few slow moments and has endeared the album as a pop vocal classic.
-Zac Johnson, AllMusic


  • Numbered, Limited Edition
  • Mastering Engineer: Tohru Kotetsu (JVC Mastering Center)
  • OBI Strip
  • Made in Japan


  1. What a Wonderful World
  2. Cabaret
  3. The Home Fire
  4. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  5. Give Me Your Kisses (I'll Give You My Heart)
  6. The Sunshine of Your Love
  7. Hello Brother
  8. There Must Be a Way
  9. Fantastic, That's You
  10. I Guess I'll Get the Papers and Go Home
  11. Hellzapoppin' (From Hellzapoppin '67)

Customers Also Like