Genre: Classical
Additional Artists: Martin West


Lowell Liebermann Frankenstein 2HDCD

San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Double CD Mastered by Prof. Keith Johnson & Sean Martin!
HDCD Encoded!

The First Audio Recording Of Lowell Liebermann's Complete Score To Liam Scarlett's Ballet Adaptation Of Mary Shelley's Classic Gothic Novel!

Frankenstein was recorded during live ballet performances at War Memorial Opera House, San Francisco by RR's engineering team, comprised of GRAMMY®-winning engineer and Technical Director Keith O. Johnson, and multi-GRAMMY®-nominated engineer Sean Martin. The album was produced by the GRAMMY®-winning team, Marina A. Ledin and Victor Ledin.

The producers state, "The live audience, the special effects, beautiful sets and incredible dancers allowed us to document an 'event' rather than simply recording a musical score... The composer, Lowell Liebermann was with us at all of the performances, the orchestral musicians were collaborative throughout, and, of course, Martin West worked tirelessly with us at the performances as well as in the editing and mastering of the final resulting release." This is the San Francisco Ballet Orchestra's fifth release with Reference Recordings.

Under the direction of Music Director and Principal Conductor Martin West, San Francisco Ballet Orchestra is internationally recognized as one of the foremost ballet orchestras in the world. After decades of using freelance musicians, the Orchestra was founded in 1975 - as Performing Arts Orchestra - under Music Director Denis de Coteau. The Orchestra performs all of San Francisco Ballet's repertory programs at the War Memorial Opera House, and has accompanied other companies including Hamburg Ballet, Paris Opera Ballet, American Ballet Theater, Bolshoi Ballet, and The Royal Ballet. The Orchestra has established a critically acclaimed discography of 17 recordings, beginning with Paul Chihara's The Tempest in 1982. In 2015, the Orchestra won two Grammy awards in the classical music category for Ask Your Mama, composer Laura Karpman's setting of Langston Hughes' poem "Ask Your Mama: 12 Moods for Jazz." The Orchestra has appeared in televised recordings such as the inaugural Lincoln Center at the Movies: Great American Dance broadcast of SF Ballet Artistic Director Helgi Tomasson's Romeo & Juliet, and PBS's Great Performances: Dance in America broadcasts of John Neumeier's The Little Mermaid, Lar Lubovitch's Othello, Tomasson's Nutcracker, and former CoArtistic Director Michael Smuin's productions of The Tempest, Cinderella, Romeo & Juliet, and A Song for Dead Warriors.

For more than 45 years, Reference Recordings has been one of the most innovative and respected independent labels in the music business. RR releases have been highly praised for their dedication to high quality sound in the service of great music. Founder Tam Henderson was joined in 1978 by engineer Keith O. Johnson. Some 150 projects later, RR is still recording what many consider to be the finest sounding classical, jazz and blues discs in the world.


  • 2CD
  • HDCD/24-bit
  • Recorded live March 6-9, 2018
  • Mastered by Sean Royce Martin & Prof. Keith O. Johnson
  • Deluxe booklet with gorgeous art created by Frankenstein set & costume designer John Macfarlane
  • Liner notes by Lowell Liebermann & producers Marina A. Ledin & Victor Ledin
  • Total Time: 1:59:08
  • Made in USA


San Francisco Ballet Orchestra
Martin West conductor


Disc 1

  1. Prologue: Geneva, 1775
  2. Scene 1: Geneva, 1788, The Frankenstein Manor
  3. Elizabeth And Victor
  4. Elizabeth And Victor Announce Their Engagement
  5. Scene 2: The Frankenstein Cemetery
  6. Interlude
  7. Scene 3: The Anatomy Theatre At Ingolstadt University
  8. The Students Enter
  9. Anatomy Lesson
  10. Scene 4: The Tavern At Ingolstadt
  11. Scene 5: The Anatomy Theatre
  12. The Creature Lives!

Disc 2

  1. Prologue: Victor's Bedchamber In The Frankenstein Manor
  2. Scene 1: Geneva, 1795, Outside The Frankenstein Manor
  3. Elizabeth And Victor
  4. The Creature Solo
  5. William's Birthday
  6. Blind Man's Bluff
  7. The Creature Kills William
  8. Justine Solo
  9. Victor And The Creature
  10. Scene 2: A Back Alley In Geneva, Justine Is Executed
  1. Prologue: The Ballroom At The Frankenstein Manor
  2. Waltz
  3. Interlude
  4. Elizabeth And Victor
  5. Henry Solo
  6. Waltz Reprise
  7. General Panic
  8. The Creature Kills Henry And Dances With Elizabeth
  9. Elizabeth And The Creature
  10. Victor And The Creature

Customers Also Like