Genre: Latin
Label: Radio Martiko
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Lucho Bermudez y su Orquesta The Coastal Invasion: Cumbia, Porro, Gaita & Mapale from Colombia's Caribbean Coast 2LP

Lucho Bermudez y su Orquesta

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Music from the Golden Age of Big Band Cumbia on Double LP.

The Coastal Invasion highlights the golden age of big band cumbia and the maestro who is often seen as Colombia's most influential composer, Lucho Bermúdez.

Bermúdez was a key figure who modernized the tropical music of Colombia's Caribbean coast. At the beginning of the 20th century, this music was largely looked down on. Bermúdez changed all that by injecting a modern, jazzy big band sound to the Afro-Colombian sounds from his native region.

The infectious Afro-Amerindian dance rhythms of Lucho Bermúdez y su Orquesta took over the elite nightclubs of Bogotá and Medellín, and from there, his music spread all over Latin America. For many Colombians, the songs of Lucho Bermúdez, and his wife and starlet singer Matilde Diaz, represent the sound of their nation.

This compilation contains a selection of the music of Lucho Bermúdez y su Orquesta recorded during the years that they lived and worked in Medellín, probably the best work the orchestra ever recorded.

High-quality 2LP. Includes a 16-page booklet with the illustrated biography of Lucho Bermúdez.


  • High-Quality Double LP
  • Mastering by Colin Young (See Why Audio) & Nick Robbins (Soundmastering)
  • Cutting by Timmion Cutting
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • 16-Page Booklet - Illustrated Biography of Lucho Bermúdez


Side A:

  1. Danza Negra
  2. Mi Pueblo
  3. Colombia Tierra Querida
  4. Nelly
  5. A Orillas Del Chicagua
  6. Gaita De Las Flores

Side B:

  1. Fiesta De Negritos
  2. Que Caña Dulce
  3. Roberto Mendez
  4. Tambores De Chambacu
  5. Prende La Vela
  6. Santa Marta

Side C:

  1. Mi Cumbia
  2. Gaiteando
  3. Arroz Con Coco
  4. Plinio Guzman
  5. Navidad Negra

Side D:

  1. Tolu
  2. Taganga
  3. La Buchaca
  4. Irma
  5. Mi Cumbia (Alternative Version)

Customers Also Like