Genre: Folk
Label: New West
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: J.J. Grey Mavis Staples
Format: 33RPM,


Luther Dickinson Blues & Ballads: A Folksingers Songbook Volumes 1 & II 180g 2LP Scratch & Dent

Luther Dickinson

$22.49 $27.99
(You save $5.50 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

All covers have imperfections and minor corner bends. Discs inside are undamaged.

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

180g Vinyl Double LP!

Blues & Ballads, this acoustic collection of songs interpreted simply, recorded live, solo or with a small group of friends celebrates Dickinson's relationship between music, songs, the written word and legacy. Blues & Ballads celebrates the American oral tradition of blues and folk songs, not only being passed down and evolving but being transcribed (the original recording technique) and entered into the discipline of written sheet music and songbooks.

The songs themselves tell the story of the lad growing up in modern day rural south amongst first generation Memphis rock ‘n rolling, song collecting, folk bohemians, disapproving pre-rock ‘n roll holy rollers, and citified punk rockers and modern day blues giants, experiencing the miracle that was Fat Possum Records and Hill Country Blues in the '90s, singing his song in a language near extinction, barely pre-internet, when community, word of mouth, firsthand experience, books, records and art still ruled. When the elders began passing on the lad realized that his family, friends and heroes should be made into folk heroes and their vernacular and stories should be sung.

The vinyl art includes Luther Dickinson's dream come true – his songbook, a printed collection of his tunes (his life), transcribed and made to look legitimate. The limited pressing makes the legitimacy fleeting and as it should be: rare and underground. Dickinson represents the Memphis underground and the mid-south region’s music. This art is not for the masses. It is meant to wither and fade and then rise from the ashes again and again, evolving and mutating.

Is it too late to tell you and your community’s tales thru the vinyl groove and the block lettered, mimeographed page? Never!

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• 16-page deluxe songbook
• Includes limited time download card

LP 1 - Volume I
Side A:

1. Hurry Up Sunrise
2. Up Over Yonder (feat. J.J. Grey)
3. Bang Bang Lulu
4. Moonshine
5. Jackson
Side B:
6. Mean Ol' Wind Died Down
7. How I Wish My Train Would Come
8. Ain't No Grave (feat. Mavis Staples)
9. Let It Roll
10. My Leavin'

LP 2 - Volume II
Side C:

1. Horseshoe (reprise)
2. Highwater (Soldier)
3. And It hurts
4. Storm
5. Mojo, Mojo
Side D:
6. Ol' Cannonball
7. Devilment
8. Blow Out
9. Mayor Langford Birmingham Blues
10. Shake (Yo Mama)
11. Horseshoe

Customers Also Like