Genre: Jazz
Label: Verve
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Madeleine Peyroux Anthem 180g 2LP

Madeleine Peyroux

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 3.5/5 Sonics in the January 2019 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

180g Vinyl Double LP Contains Cover of Leonard Cohen's "Anthem"!

2019 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Producer of The Year, Non-Classical: Larry Klein (Anthem)

Eight albums and 22 years since her debut "Dreamland", Madeleine Peyroux continues to challenge the confines of jazz, venturing into the fertile fields of contemporary music with unfading curiosity.

For Anthem, released on the iconic Verve label, Madeleine Peyroux collaborates with writers/musicians Brian MacLeod, Patrick Warren, and David Baerwald, who are also the basic rhythm section players on the album. The album speaks to the current state of the world (2018) mixed with Peyroux's personal world.

Anthem weaves the colorful stories of people confronting life’s challenges in a multitude of ways. With pathos and a hint of irony it laments over financial tribulations in "Down On Me", speaks of disappointment and unfulfilled dreams in the bluesy "Ghosts of Tomorrow" and delivers a scathingly poignant social commentary in "The Brand New Deal".

The album contains two covers - Paul Eluard's WW2 poem "Liberte" and the title track, Leonard Cohen's "Anthem".

"Emotional freefalls can trigger self-pitying lyrics and politics lazy songwriting, but Anthem retains a sly sense of humor while the songcraft remains solid from the opening track, the Beatles-sounding "On my Own", to the vinyl LP's wistful closer, "Liberte," which sets a Paul Eluard poem to music (the CD contains an extra track). Throughout the record Peyroux reminds us that she's one of the finest singers of our generation - and a superb Leonard Cohen interpreter, as proven by the title track, which helps tie together some themes from what is ultimately an affirmative collection of songs." - Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, January 2019

• Double LP
• 180g Vinyl
• Gatefold jacket
• Made in Germany

Side A:

1. On My Own
2. Down On Me
3. Party Tyme
Side B:
4. Anthem
5. All My Heroes
6. On A Sunday Afternoon
7. The Brand New Deal
Side C:
8. Lullaby
9. Honey Party
10. The Ghosts Of Tomorrow
Side D:
11. We Might As Well Dance
12. Liberte

Customers Also Like