Mahler Symphony No. 3 In D Minor Hybrid Stereo SACD + CD

Sidney Harth

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Hybrid Stereo SACD & CD!

Experience overwhelming sonics on this Decca Hybrid Stereo SACD. Mahler Symphony No. 3 by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Zubin Mehta with Maureen Forrester, contralto. Considered to be one of the best Decca recordings; made in March 1978 in Royce Hall, U.S.A. by recording engineers James Lock and Simon Eadon. Mastered by noted mastering engineer Willem Makkee from the original tapes.

"Mehta has made a specialty out of Mahler's Third Symphony. The massive first movement, with its outstanding inner detail of the lower registers of the orchestra, may be the best ever recorded, especially if you are primarily considering the sound...The timpani at the end and the final sumptuous chord have never sounded so good on a recording." - Arthur Lintgren, The Absolute Sound, January 2019

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Maureen Forrester, contralto
The Los Angeles Philharmonic
Zubin Mehta, conductor
Sidney Harth, violin
Robert di Vall, posthorn

1. I Kräftig (part 1)
2. I Kräftig (conclusion) (part 1)
3. II Tempo di menuetto (part 2)
4. III Comodo (part 2)
5. IV Sehr langsam – Misterioso "O Mensch! O Mensch!" (part 2)
6. V Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck "Bimm bamm" (part 2)
7. VI Langsam (part 2)

Customers Also Like