Genre: R&B
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Marc Cohn & Blind Boys Of Alabama Work To Do LP

Marc Cohn & Blind Boys Of Alabama

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Incredible Soul Mixed With Stirring Vocal Harmonies On Vinyl LP!

Produced by John Leventhal, this unique collection combines the songwriting talents of Marc Cohn with the soul stirring harmonies of Blind Boys Of Alabama and falls on the heels of more than a year of live collaborative dates. Work To Do is comprised of three studio tracks by Cohn and Blind Boys (two originals and a version of the gospel standard "Walking To Jerusalem"), and seven intimate live performances recorded at the Katharine Hepburn Cultural Arts Center in Old Saybrook, CT, during a taping of the PBS series The Kate, which premiered on May 24th, 2019. Original plans were to release an EP containing the studio tracks, but the excitement and magic captured during the taping inspired the decision to create this unique hybrid album. The live performances on Work To Do feature the Grammy award-winning Blind Boys Of Alabama adding their trademark harmonies and vocal textures to six songs drawn from the breadth of Cohn's venerable career including the mega-hit, "Walking in Memphis", "Ghost Train" and "Silver Thunderbird". Blind Boys' striking rearrangement of the traditional hymn "Amazing Grace" completes the collection.

Grammy award-winning artist Marc Cohn has solidified his place as a highly acclaimed and compelling singer-songwriter, combining the precision of a brilliant tunesmith with the passion of a great soul man. Hailed as "gospel titans" by Rolling Stone, Blind Boys first rose to fame in the segregated south with their thrilling vocal harmonies and roof-raising live show. They released their debut single, "I Can See Everybody's Mother But Mine", on the iconic Veejay label in 1948, launching a 70-year recording career that would see them rack up five Grammy Awards (plus one for Lifetime Achievement), enter the Gospel Music Hall of Fame, collaborate with everyone from Mavis Staples and Stevie Wonder to Prince and Lou Reed, and perform on the world's most prestigious stages.

This rare combination of the incredible soul of Marc Cohn mixed with the stirring vocal harmonies of Blind Boys Of Alabama is not to be missed.

• Vinyl LP

Side A:

1. Walking In Jerusalem
2. Talk Back Mic
3. Work To Do
4. Ghost Train
5. Baby King
6. Listening To Levon
Side B:
1. Silver Thunderbird
2. Amazing Grace
3. Walking In Memphis
4. One Safe Place

Customers Also Like