Mari Samuelsen Lys LP

Mari Samuelsen

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

A Meditation in Sound on Vinyl LP!
Samuelsen Interprets Works by 13 Female Composers!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Mari Samuelsen's latest Deutsche Grammophon album explores the phenomenon on which so much of life on earth depends. Lys - Norwegian for "Light" - presents music by thirteen female composers, from Hildegard of Bingen to Hildur Guðnadóttir, combining specially commissioned works with new arrangements of existing pieces. The fourteen tracks are woven together to create a meditation in sound on something so fundamental that it is often taken for granted. The Norwegian violinist's eclectic program moves through light's infinitely subtle qualities to reveal a musical world of boundless shades of emotion and expression.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Germany


Mari Samuelsen violin
Hania Rani piano (Side B:5)
Dobrawa Czocher solo cello (Side B:5)
Margaret Hermant harp, violin, electronics (Side A:6)
Fabien Leseure electronics (Side A:6)
Meredi electronics (Side A:1)
Clarice Jensen electronics (Side B:6)
American Contemporary Music Ensemble (Side B:6)
Anna Meredith electronics (Side B:7)
Hannah Peel electronics (Side A:3, Side B:4)
Erland Cooper programming (Side B:4)
Julien Quentin piano (Side A:2, Side B:2)
Scoring Berlin (Side A:1,3-7; Side B:1,3-5)
Jonathan Stockhammer conductor (Side A:1, 3, 6-7; Side B:1, 3, 5)


Side A:

  1. White Flowers Take Their Bath (Meredi)
  2. Nocturne (Dobrinka Tabakova) (Arr. for Violin and Piano)
  3. Signals (Hannah Peel)
  4. IV. The Orangery & V. The Beech Tree (Caroline Shaw) (Nos. 4 & 5 from Plan & Elevation: The Grounds of Dumbarton Oaks)
  5. Sol Levante (Laura Masotto)
  6. Lightwell (Margaret Hermant)
  7. O vis eternitatis (Hildegard of Bingen) (Arr. by Tormod Tvete Vik)

Side B:

  1. Halo (Beyoncé Giselle Knowles, Ryan Benjamin Tedder, Evan Kid Bogart) (Arr. by Thomas Muis) (ABBOTT)
  2. Adagio Sognando (Lera Auerbach) (No. 15 from 24 Preludes for Violin and Piano op. 45)
  3. Baer (Hildur Guðnadóttir) (Arr. by Max Knoth)
  4. Erland Cooper Reverie (Hannah Peel Co-composed by Erland Cooper; Arr. for Solo Violin, Strings and Electronics by Max Knoth)
  5. La Luce (Hania Rani)
  6. Love Abounds in Everything (Clarice Jensen)
  7. Midi (Anna Meredith (b.1978)) (Arr. for Solo Violin and Electronics)

Customers Also Like