Genre: Pop Rock
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Marianne Faithfull Negative Capability LP

Marianne Faithfull

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
New Album On Vinyl LP!
Includes "The Gypsy Faerie Queen" Feat. Nick Cave!

Negative Capability is Marianne Faithfull’s 21st album and the most emotionally powerful of her 54-year recording career. Facing down arthritis and bolstered by collaborators including Warren Ellis, Nick Cave, Rob Ellis, Ed Harcourt and Mark Lanegan, Negative Capability is charged with brutal honesty and autobiographical reflection as she addresses losing old friends, her loneliness living in her adopted city of Paris, and love.

Driven by her supernatural reinterpretative skills, florid lyricism, battle against the pain she lives with, and realised with her stellar group of musicians, Negative Capability is Marianne's unflinchingly honest and relentlessly beautiful late-life masterpiece. The stark emotional heft, exquisitely framed by ornately sensitive musical backdrops can only be likened to the late-life works by Johnny Cash or Leonard Cohen. The record emphasizes her unique place as a force of nature in the beating heart of modern music that started opening up after "Sister Morphine" ignited her muse and was recorded by the Rolling Stones nearly fifty years ago. At that time she had enjoyed her pop career with hits such as "Come And Stay With Me" and "This Little Bird", before becoming the crown princess of the UK counterculture and grasping her artistic reins with the landmark Broken English in 1979.

Marianne has long been unsurpassed when it comes to reinterpreting other people's songs, gifted in making them her own as she digs into the words to grip the composition’s heart then provides her own unique spin by injecting every syllable with clearly enunciated but gut level emotional response. Even if she wasn't yet aware of it, this process started with "As Tears Go By" as she plugged into its character looking back at her life. She would revisit the song with the wisdom of 23 years' experience on 1987's Strange Weather and does again to stunning effect on Negative Capability, sung now with the resonance of age and experience. Her love of Bob Dylan, who she hung out with on his 1965 UK tour, is continued with a riveting version of "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue". There's also a remake of "Witches' Song" from Broken English – now a psychedelic mantra.

In her long and storied career, Negative Capability sees Marianne composing songs with her musical collaborators more than on any previous album. Mark Lanegan supplied the music for "They Come At Night", inspired by the attacks in Paris and performed at the Bataclan while they were "wiping the blood off the walls". Ed Harcourt sculpted the desolately moving "No Moon In Paris" at the end of the album, with Marianne reflecting on her remarkable life.

"Beginning with 1979's acrimonious Broken English, Marianne Faithfull has spent the last four decades gracefully transitioning into the Grande Dame of Melancholy, the High Priestess of Dusky Rock, capable of bridging the chasm between Kurt Weill’s dramatic ballads and the gothy rock of artists like Nick Cave and PJ Harvey. Her deep, complex voice is cuts through the darkness with ease. Her latest, Negative Capability, continues her long string of late-career masterworks. She revisits her breakthrough hit, 'As Tears Go By,' but the world-weariness of her voice gives it new depth, and she does the same with Broken English's 'Witches' Song' but turns it into an almost uplifting folk song. Nick Cave wrote the music for her Midsummer Night's Dream riff, 'The Gypsy Faerie Queen,' and Mark Lanegan did the same for 'They Come at Night,' a vehicle for her anger after the Bataclan attack. There are also moments of tenderness ('No Moon at Night') and vulnerability ('Misunderstanding,' 'In My Own Particular Way') that make it one of her most compelling albums to date." - Rolling Stone

• Vinyl LP
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time download card

Side A:

1. Misunderstanding
2. The Gypsy Faerie Queen
3. As Tears Go By
4. In My Own Particular Way
5. Born To Live
Side B:
1. Witches' Song
2. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
3. They Come At Night
4. Don't Go
5. No Moon In Paris

Customers Also Like