Genre: Female Vocals
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Marlena Shaw Sweet Beginnings 180g Import LP

Marlena Shaw

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl Import LP Features Classic "Go Away Little Boy!"

In 1977, Soul singer Marlena Shaw released Sweet Beginnings that contained, arguably, Shaw's finest moment: "Yu Ma" and "Go Away Little Boy", a medley containing the old Goffin and Carole King standard, originally recorded by Nancy Wilson. The album also contains the track "Look At Me, Look At You", popular on the U.K. rare groove scene.

"The album's biggest hit was Shaw's tasteful jazz take on Gerry Goffin and Carole King's 'Go Away Little Boy.' Although her strength is well known, on that track, Shaw's sweetness keeps the assertiveness from being tedious. On the song after giving ultimatums, she finally says, 'Do you think you can get a job by Thursday?'...Perhaps the best part of Sweet Beginnings is how Shaw's charisma takes over and the lyrics were almost secondary. Both 'Look at Me, Look at You' and 'Johnny' have Shaw taking on a lighter touch, as each line she sings is emotive and affecting. The album's last track, the brassy, big-band styled ' Think I'll Tell Him' written by Thom Bell and Linda Creed has Shaw almost thrilled to tell her husband that she had been cheating as she sings, 'I couldn't help myself sweet baby.' Sweet Beginnings benefits from a sympathetic production job from Bert DeCoteaux and is one of Shaw's most enduring efforts." - Jason Elias,

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl Pressing
• Classic Album

Side A:

1. Pictures And Memories
2. Yu-Ma
3. Go Away Little Boy
4. The Writing's On The Wall
5. Walk Softly
Side B:
1. Sweet Beginnings
2. Look At Me, Look At You (We're Flying)
3. No Deposit, No Return
4. Johnny
5. I Think I'll Tell Him

Customers Also Like