Genre: Folk
Label: Dangerbird
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Matt Costa Yellow Coat LP

Matt Costa

$4.99 $19.99
(You save $15.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Equal Parts Lost '60s AM Radio Hits, Folk-Pop Beauty & Dark Night of the Soul Music On Vinyl LP!

When Matt Costa started working on the songs for his sixth record Yellow Coat, he'd been on tour for the better part of two years and had just ended a relationship of almost a decade. The music needed to exist, and it was as much an emotional exercise as a creative one. "I think every other record that I've written, I wrote knowing that the songs would have an outlet," Costa says "And for this one, I really didn't. It was just a process I was going through, clearing myself of these feelings and thoughts."

The songs were like Costa's letters to himself, with the honesty and intimacy of something that was not meant to be heard. And now, of course, they have. Yellow Coat is a masterpiece of heartbreak from a preternatural tunesmith, its raw emotion channeled into gently swinging, hooky love songs, most of them awash in strings and mellotron and harmonies and groove. From the insinuating acoustic riffs and lo-fi beats of "Avenal" and the snappy fatalism of "Slow" to the almost church-like fragility of "Last Love Song", Yellow Coat is equal parts lost '60s AM radio hits, folk-pop beauty and dark night of the soul music.


  • Vinyl LP


Side A:

  1. Avenal
  2. Slow
  3. Make That Change
  4. Let Love Heal
  5. Last Love Song
  6. Jet Black Lake

Side B:

  1. Savannah
  2. Broken Eros (Interlude)
  3. Yellow Coat
  4. Sky Full Of Tears
  5. When The Avalanche Comes
  6. So I Say Goodbye

Customers Also Like