Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Matthew Sweet Catspaw LP

Matthew Sweet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

11th Solo Album From Matthew Sweet On Vinyl LP!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the March 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Matthew Sweet played in bands in Athens, GA as that scene exploded, collaborating with R.E.M.'s Michael Stipe, playing in Linda Stipe's Oh-OK, and The Buzz Of Delight. That work scooped him up into the major label world making countless acclaimed solo records, forming the supergroup The Thorns with Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and beginning a series of covers albums with The Bangles' Susanna Hoffs. Now, it's time for Matthew to just plain rock out by himself again.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to announce the release of Catspaw - written, produced, recorded, mixed, and entirely preformed (save ferocious drumming from Ric Menck of Velvet Crush) by Matthew at his home studio. Mastered by Bob Ludwig, the Hofner bass and Novo guitars sing and howl, harkening back to classics like "Girlfriend" and "Altered Beast" - all while retaining the hooks that dig into the listener. Well, like a cat's paw.

Catspaw opens a new chapter in the storied history of Matthew Sweet - his first album in his fifth decade as a recording artist. It may seem cute on the outside, but be prepared to get smacked by Catspaw. Matthew Sweet has had a critically and commercially successful career over the last thirty-plus years.

Best known for the classic albums Girlfriend, 100% Fun and Altered Beast, as well as his duet albums with Susanna Hoffs (of the Bangles) and his collaboration "The Thorns" with fellow singer/songwriters Pete Droge and Shawn Mullins.

With Catspaw, Sweet has crafted an album that cuts deep and leaves a strong impression.
-Matt Collar,, 4/5 stars (The AllMusic 2021 Year In Review - Favorite Rock Albums)
Without a doubt, Sweet's full-roar Catspaw is the cat's meow.
-Mike Mettler, The Absolute Sound, March 2021, Music 4/5, Sonics 4/5


  • Vinyl LP
  • Made in USA


Side One:

  1. Blown Away
  2. Give A Little
  3. Challenge The Gods
  4. Come Home
  5. Drifting
  6. Best Of Me

Side Two:

  1. Stars Explode
  2. Hold On Tight
  3. At A Loss
  4. No Surprise
  5. Coming Soon
  6. Parade Of Lights

Customers Also Like