Genre: R&B
Label: Legacy
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Maxwell BLACKsummers'night LP (Metallic Silver Vinyl)


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming June 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Acclaimed 4th Studio Album on Limited Edition Metallic Silver Vinyl!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 467/500!

Maxwell's fourth studio album, BLACKsummers'night, was the first in a music trilogy series. In lieu of the release of the second part of the series, blackSUMMERS'night, Legacy is proud to release the first-ever 12" vinyl edition of BLACKsummer'snight as a limited edition metallic silver collectible pressed on 150-gram vinyl featuring the singles "Pretty Wings," "Bad Habits," "Cold" and "Fistful of Tears."

Just as he arrived in 1996, offering an alternate option to the exaggerated masculinity that was dominating contemporary R&B, he returns as the airwaves are stuffed with raging hormones expressed through Auto-Tune. He has made no concessions to them. BLACKsummers'night is all devotion, regret, and heartache, written with Now collaborator Hod David and played by a session band, including a horn section, that sounds closer to a touring band that has been supporting the singer for years. The musicians morph with every shift in emotion through arrangements that are unfailingly exquisite and sensitively nuanced, even when they are briskly played
-Andy Kellman,, 4.5/5 stars
Maxwell was a successful Nineties neo-soul crooner who went on an eight-year hiatus between 2001's Now and this 2009 release. BLACKSummers'night betrays no anxiety about the time off; in fact, it ranks among the great comeback records. Maxwell sang about post-breakup desperation as he navigated plush, complicated grooves with jazz players like Keyon Harrold and Derrick Hodge giving his arrangements extra zip. The album's ecstatic triumph is 'Pretty Wings,' a keening, chiming lullaby.
-Rolling Stone, The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time


  • Limited Edition
  • Metallic Silver Vinyl
  • 150g Vinyl
  • 2016 Pressing


Side One:

  1. Badhabits
  2. Cold
  3. Prettywings
  4. Helpsomebody

Side Two:

  1. Stoptheworld
  2. Loveyou
  3. Fistfuloftears
  4. Playingpossum
  5. Phoneixrise

Customers Also Like