Genre: Soundtrack
Label: Stax
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Melvin Van Peebles Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song Soundtrack 180g LP

Melvin Van Peebles

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
R&B Soundtrack On 180g Vinyl LP!
Cut in Memphis at Ardent Studios! Pressed at Memphis Record Pressing!

Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song was a 1971 thriller film written, produced, scored, edited, directed by and starring Melvin Van Peebles. This was the ultimate independent film as no studio would finance the film, therefore Van Peebles partially funded the film himself (later borrowing money from Bill Cosby to complete the project). The actor performed his own stunts.

The film tells a story of a poor black man on his flight from the white authority and was censored in some markets. The musical score was performed by Earth Wind & Fire.

"Circa 1970, playwright, poet and radical raconteur Melvin Van Peebles was finishing work on his low-budget film Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song. The filmmaker still needed a soundtrack and his assistant happened to be dating a young Chicago transplant to Los Angeles, Maurice White, whose band Earth, Wind & Fire was still shopping their demos. As Peebles told Wax Poetics, "they were all starving to death on Hollywood Boulevard" but he enlisted their help in concocting a set of greasy funk and jazz loops that Peebles himself warbled and screeched over. The album and movie unexpectedly became runaway successes and EWF became the first musical stars of the blaxploitation era, paving the way for Isaac Hayes's Shaft and Curtis Mayfield's Superfly." -

• 180g Vinyl LP
• Original cast soundtrack album
• Cut in Memphis at Ardent Studios
• Pressed at Memphis Record Pressing
• New in-depth liner notes by author and music writer Jeff Weiss
• Commentary from acclaimed director Mario Van Peebles

Side One:

1. Sweetback Losing His Cherry
2. Sweetback Getting It Uptight And Preaching It So Hard The Bourgeois Reggin Angels in Heaven Turn Around
3. Come On Feet
4. Sweetback's Theme
Side Two:
1. Hoppin John / Voices
2. Mojo Woman
3. Sanra Z / Voices
4. Reggins Hanging On In There As Best They Can / Voices
5. Won't Bleed Me
6. The Man Tries Running His Usual Game But Sweetback's Jones Is So Strong He Wastes The Hounds (Yeah! Yeah! And Besides That Will Be Coming Back Takin Names & Collecting Dues)

Customers Also Like