Genre: Soul
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Merry Clayton Gimme Shelter LP (Black & White "Gray Eye" Vinyl)

Merry Clayton

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

1970 Soul Classic On Black & White "Gray Eye" Vinyl LP!
Limited To 700 Copies!

As the Academy Award-winning documentary '20 Feet From Stardom' made abundantly clear, Merry Clayton is one of the greatest and most distinguished female backup singers in rock and soul history, having sung with everybody from Bobby Darin to Ray Charles to Joe Cocker to Linda Ronstadt to Neil Young to Lynyrd Skynyrd (on "Sweet Home Alabama").

But her most famous vocal turn, of course, was her 1969 duet ("It's just a shot away!") with Mick Jagger on "Gimme Shelter". The notoriety she gained from that led to a recording contract with Lou Adler's Ode label, and to this 1970 debut solo record, which took its title from the Stones track and featured Merry's own hit solo version of the song.

But don't stop there - produced by Adler, arranged by the great Gene Page, and featuring Billy Preston on keyboards, this album is an overlooked soul classic, with Merry's indomitable voice taking songs like James Cleveland's "Here Come Those Heartaches Again", The Doors' "Tell All The People" and James Taylor's "Country Roads" to dizzying heights (she also turns "Bridge Over Troubled Water" into the sanctified gospel hymn it truly is).

For this reissue, Real Gone Music have pressed up 700 copies in totally cool, black & white "gray eye" vinyl!


  • Limited Edition - 700 Copies
  • Black & White "Gray Eye" Vinyl


Side One:

  1. Country Road
  2. Tell All The People
  3. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  4. I've Got Life
  5. Gimme Shelter

Side Two:

  1. Here Come Those Heartaches Again
  2. Forget It I Got It
  3. You've Been Acting Strange
  4. I Ain't Gonna Worry My LIfe Away
  5. Good Girls
  6. Glad Tidings

Customers Also Like