Genre: Metal
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Metallica & San Francisco Symphony S&M2 4LP

Metallica & San Francisco Symphony

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

4LP Set!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the February 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

S&M2, the live set from Metallica & The San Francisco Symphony, is the concert event of the year!

This live recording features 20 songs (over 2.5 hours of music) from the two-night event that opened San Francisco's new Chase Center, with many Metallica fan favorites and two unique classical songs chosen by San Francisco Symphony Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas.

S&M2 has newly remixed and remastered audio for a whole new sound from the original theatrical run in October 2019.

Reimagining some of the band's most beloved hits as symphonic opuses that give the tracks new dimension and depth.
The group proved that anything was possible by teaming up with the symphony...You could practically hear Beethoven roll over.
-Rolling Stone
Metallica changed the face of metal. Again.
The symphony adds layers of color to Metallica's long, brooding instrumental, 'The Call of Ktulu.' When band and orchestra team up during an excerpt from a classical piece, Alexander Mosolov's 'Iron Foundry,' the results are menacing enough to belong in an upcoming horror movie. 'Wherever I May Roam' pairs vocalist James Hetfield with the orchestra to good effect. A raw, edgy tribute to Metallica's late bassist, Cliff Burton, '(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth' begins as a solo feature for the orchestra's principal bassist Scott Pingel, who's then joined by drummer Lars Ulrich. Everything is well-recorded, and Metallica collectors have a plethora of formats to choose from, including a 4-LP vinyl set.
-Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, February 2021, Music 4/5, Sonics 4/5


  • 4LP
  • Black Vinyl
  • Remixed & Remastered audio
  • 16-page 12"x12" booklet featuring photos by Anton Corbijn
  • Limited time MP3 download card


LP 1

Side One:
  1. The Ecstasy Of Gold
  2. The Call Of Ktulu
  3. For Whom The Bell Tolls
Side Two:
  1. The Day That Never Comes
  2. The Memory Remains
  3. Confusion

LP 2

Side Three:
  1. Moth Into Flame
  2. The Outlaw Torn
Side Four:
  1. No Leaf Clover
  2. Halo On Fire

LP 3

Side Five:
  1. Intro To Scythian Suite
  2. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance of The Dark Spirits
  3. Intro To The Iron Foundry
  4. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19
  5. The Unforgiven III
Side Six:
  1. All Within My Hands
  2. (Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth
  3. Wherever I May Roam

LP 4

Side Seven:
  1. One
  2. Master Of Puppets
Side Eight:
  1. Nothing Else Matters
  2. Enter Sandman

Customers Also Like