Mick Farren Vampires Stole My Lunch Money Import LP

Mick Farren

$9.99 $29.99
(You save $20.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

The Deviants Founder Solo On Vinyl LP!
First Time On Vinyl Since 1979!
Features Chrissie Hynde (The Pretenders) & Sonja Kristina (Curved Air) On Backing Vocals!

Munster presents a reissue of Mick Farren's Vampires Stole My Lunch Money, originally released in 1978. After three albums of raw, rabble-rousing psychedelic street punk with the Deviants, and an esoteric solo album (1970's Mona - The Carnivorous Circus), Mick Farren put his musical activities on hold at the dawn of the 1970s, and focused instead on his writing. By 1976 Farren was making his mark as a staff writer at the New Musical Express, where he was instrumental in chronicling, and to some extent nurturing, the nascent punk rock movement as it jerked awkwardly to life in the streets and pubs of London. Farren felt a natural affinity with the new youth fashion line of pimple-faced punk aspirants, full of piss, vinegar and amphetamines, ranting about anarchy and boredom over a simplistic rock n' roll backbeat.

Inevitably, it wasn't long before Mick was off the sidelines and back in the musical fray. Farren got a call from Logo Records who had just acquired the Transatlantic catalog and were re-releasing the Deviants' third album. Mick suggested they also release a new solo album, and to his surprise, after some initial hesitation, they agreed. Andy Colquhoun, the Warsaw Pakt's lead guitarist, soon became his primary musical foil - in fact, some of the songs on this album were originally intended for the Warsaw Pakt. Also, Farren put a band together, including guest musicians Wilko Johnson of Dr Feelgood, Chrissie Hynde, who was still in the process of forming the Pretenders, Sonja Kristina, the lead singer of Curved Air, and Will Stallibrass who'd played with Graham Parker, Lightnin' Slim and Chilli Willi & the Red Hot Peppers, to name a few.

Due to the limited budget, they ended up spending most of their time working on a half-dozen of their favorite tracks, while the rest were "banged down as little more than jamming, art-school R&B, with only a thin coat of metalflake."

Unavailable on vinyl for quite some time, Munster Records present the reissue of Vampires Stole My Lunch Money, regarded as one of Mick Farren's finest albums. In Trouser Press, Ira A. Robbins called it: "Farren's solo masterwork... a harrowingly honest collection of songs about drinking, dissolution, depression and desperation." Includes liner notes by Mike Stax (Ugly Things Magazine).

One of the key albums made on the periphery of the late-1970s punk explosion...It's probably the least essential album in Farren's canon, distilling his dark visions into bite sized morsels of fairly catchy poppy songs. But it is also the most enjoyable; a rolling, boiling, sassy swagger which makes only one persistent demand on the listeners. They have to buy the next round.
-Dave Thompson,, 4/5 stars


  • Vinyl LP
  • First Time on Vinyl Since 1979
  • Liner Notes by Mike Stax
  • Import


Side 1:

  1. Trouble Coming Every Day
  2. Half Price Drinks
  3. I Don't Want To Go This Way
  4. I Want A Drink
  5. Son Of A Millionaire
  6. Zombie Line

Side 2:

  1. Bela Lugosi
  2. People Call You Crazy
  3. Fast Eddie
  4. Let Me In, Damn You
  5. (I Know From) Self Destruction
  6. Drunk In The Morning

Customers Also Like