Genre: Jazz


Mike Garson & Jim Walker Pied Piper HDCD

Mike Garson & Jim Walker

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
12 Original Mike Garson Compositions on HDCD Digitally Remastered from Original Analogue Tapes.

Jim Walker on flute with Mike Garson on piano, in a crystalline-pure recording of soothing, meditative jazz entitled Pied Piper.

This project was previously issued as 45 rpm audiophile LP in 1985 and CD in 1992: RR-18 "Reflections," long out of print and now collectible!

Pianist Mike Garson is best known as long-time music director for David Bowie and is perhaps the most versatile pianist working today.

Jim Walker, a dynamic soloist, is a legendary orchestral and studio musician, celebrated jazz flutist, and an inspiration to countless students worldwide.

"Pianist Mike Garson and flutist Jim Walker, both with jazz and classical backgrounds and experience, came together on this project to present songs that reflected both their backgrounds. The results are often musically impressive...As with all Reference releases, it's superbly engineered and sounds wonderful." - Ron Wynn, All Music Guide

"The tunes of Pied Piper are lyrical, impressionistic, meditative, and classical in nature. They abound in lovely melodies, and some do swing a little. The added track of Debussy's unaccompanied Syrinx fits into the mix beautifully; the spellbinding flute selection was the theme of a popular TV nature series many years ago. The recording quality is just superb, and though Garson's tunes are all of a piece, there is plenty of variety, making it a fine program for listening all the way thru." - John Sunier, AudiophileAudition

• 12 Original Mike Garson compositions
• New high resolution digital remastering from the original analogue tapes
• New evocative artwork for eco-friendly digipak
• Transferred from the Analogue Masters to 176.4/24 digital

1. Portrait Of A Friend
2. Love
3. First Song
4. Ethereal
5. Yearnings
6. Pied Piper
7. Syrinx (Claude Debussy)
8. The Park
9. Magic Spell
10. You're One Of A Kind
11. Reflections
12. Reason
13. Admiration

Customers Also Like