Genre: Jazz
Label: Doxy
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Miles Davis Milesin' 180g 3LP

Miles Davis

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g 3LP Set Collects the Recordings That Comprise the Albums "Cookin'," "Relaxin'," "Workin'," And "Steamin'!"

On May 11 and October 26, 1956 the Miles Davis Quintet, featuring John Coltrane on tenor sax, Red Garland on piano, Paul Chambers on bass and 'Philly' Joe Jones on drums, went into the studio to record two mammoth sessions in the Rudy Van Gelder studio. This studio time resulted in four legendary hard bop albums: Cookin', Relaxin', Workin', and Steamin' with the Miles Davis Quintet. For these sessions the quintet simply played their live set straight through, as if they were playing at a club. One take. That's it. And as a result, these albums are as close as anyone (who wasn't there) will ever come to knowing what one of the most memorable jazz combos in history must have sounded like live. The incredible tension between all five musicians shines through -- Miles' poised and sparing trumpet in stark contrast with Coltrane's more urgent and note heavy sax, backed by one of the best rhythm sections in jazz -- and the studio banter that can be heard makes it feel like you are in a stage-side seat.

Interestingly, there is very little original material, but what we do have is a glimpse straight into the heart of what was popular in jazz music at the time. Because of the unique way in which these albums were recorded, it is only fitting that they be brought together in one package, and on vinyl as nature intended. Now they have also been remastered by the original sound engineer Rudy Van Gelder himself, who commented, "I remember those sessions well, I remember how the musicians wanted to sound...Today, I feel strongly that I am their messenger."

• 180g Vinyl
• 3LP Set
• Remastered by Rudy Van Gelder
• Import

Miles Davis, trumpet
John Coltrane, tenor sax
Red Garland, piano
Paul Chambers, bass
Philly Joe Jones, drums

LP 1 - Side A:

1. Surrey With the Fringe on Top
2. Salt Peanuts
3. Something I Dreamed Last Night
4. When I Fall in Love
LP 1 - Side B:
1. It Never Entered My Mind
2. Four
3. In Your Own Sweet Way
4. Ahmad's Blues

LP 2 - Side C:

1. Diane
2. It Could Happen to You
3. The Theme (Take 1)
4. Trane's Blues
LP 2 - Side D:
1. My Funny Valentine
2. Blues by Five
3. Airegin
4. Woody 'N' You
5. The Theme (Take 2)

LP 3 - Side E:
1. If I Were a Bell
2. You're My Everything
3. I Could Write a Book
4. Oleo
LP 3 - Side F:
1. Well, You Needn't
2. Half Nelson
3. Tune Up / When the Lights Are Low

Customers Also Like