Milos Karadaglic Blackbird - The Beatles Album 180g LP

Milos Karadaglic

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl LP! Acclaimed Classical Guitarist Covers The Beatles!
Featuring Tori Amos, Gregory Porter & More!!

After delighting audiences with the classical heritage of the guitar on his three previous albums, acclaimed guitarist Milos Karadaglic returns with a pleasantly surprising departure; Blackbird – The Beatles Album. Performing delicate new arrangements of iconic songs by The Beatles, the “charismatic, sensitive player” (The New York Times) collaborates with celebrated artists from the varied worlds of pop, jazz and classical, including Tori Amos, Gregory Porter, Anoushka Shankar, Sergio Assad and Steven Isserlis.

Milos explains, “Recording this album opened a door into a very different reality. It felt as if I was exploring an alter ego I never knew I had.” Highlights include “Blackbird,” “Come Together,” “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” “Eleanor Rigby,” “Fool on the Hill,” and “Let it Be” among others.

Blackbird – The Beatles Album was recorded in the famous Studio 2 of Abbey Road Studios, where the Beatles themselves recorded most of their legendary songs. Further harkening back to the original sessions, this new recording also used some of the original microphones from The Beatles recordings. "The spirit, the whole magic of this space was truly intoxicating. It was a bit like they were all there," says Milos.

As a young boy growing up in Montenegro, Milos did not pay the Beatles close attention, preferring instead to concentrate on core classical repertoire. Later, he was somewhat surprised when his teacher at London’s Royal Academy suggested that he learn "Yesterday," in an arrangement by the Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu. "But then I studied the piece, and fell in love with it completely," he says.

After graduation, while working as a guitar teacher himself, Milos read in a newspaper that Sir Paul McCartney was working on a guitar concerto. "All excited, I told a friend about it and she showed me where Sir Paul lived. I pressed the buzzer outside the great wooden gates… I left him my demo CD (including the interpretation of ‘Yesterday’) and a detailed letter explaining why I should be the one to play his concerto. Of course, I never heard back," he laughs. "But ever since that moment, I’ve paid much closer attention to the music of Sir Paul and the Beatles."

Over the next several years, Milos explored the entire Beatles catalogue, gathering the songs that would work best for the classical guitar. He explains, "The guitar has always been the instrument which most comfortably transcends genres and straddles the worlds of classical and mainstream. The challenge with these amazing songs is to respect their own truth, while giving them a new life through a different medium. The key is simplicity."

Blackbird – The Beatles Album also brought together a talented array of behind-the-scenes collaborators. Brazilian guitarist-composer Sergio Assad handled guitar arrangements on all tracks, with the exception of “Yesterday” which is the Takemitsu version Milos first played at university. Tony Award-winning orchestrator and composer Christopher Austin, a friend of Milos’ from his student days at the Royal Academy, contributed string arrangements on three tracks, and jazz bassist Chris Hill (who has worked with Jamie Cullum, Annie Lennox and others) provided improvised bass parts to several songs.

Milos is delighted at the collaborative nature of the project. "The partnership between George Harrison and Ravi Shankar was one of the most important cross culture collaborations in music. Inviting his daughter Anoushka Shankar, who is one of my absolutely favorite musicians, to join me on ‘Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds’ was a no-brainer." The project also marks the first time Milos has worked with pop vocalists. "Recording ‘She’s Leaving Home’ with Tori Amos was a deeply emotional experience, and it was amazing having Gregory Porter on ‘Let It Be’ too. I could not have asked for more. Musically, this project has been the most fun I’ve ever had."


• 180g Vinyl LP
• Includes digital download card

Side A:
1. Blackbird
2. Come Together
3. The Fool On the Hill
4. And I Love Her
5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
6. Let It Be (feat. Gregory Porter)
7. Eleanor Rigby
8. Yesterday

Side B:
9. Something
10. She's Leaving Home (feat. Tori Amos)
11. Michelle (feat. Steven Isserlis)
12. Here, There & Everywhere
13. Here Comes the Sun
14. All My Loving
15. Lucy In the Sky With Diamonds

Customers Also Like