Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Mountain Climbing! 180g LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso With Kevin Gray From Original Windfall Records Tapes! Pressed at RTI!

Mountain’s Mississippi Queen is one of the most revered hard rock songs in modern time. Amongst other staples like Deep Purple’s Smoke On The Water and BTO’s Takin’ Care Of Business, the song will forever stand the test of time. That particular smash hit was the lead off track from their top album chart hit Climbing!

Climbing! also referred to by fans as Mountain Climbing! was released in 1970, went gold immediately and began a very successful partnership albeit brief for this arena packing quartet. Consisting of guitar shredder/vocalist extraordinaire Leslie West, the late great Felix Pappalardi on bass, keys and vocals, the explosive Corky Laing on drums and the masterful Steve Knight on organ/piano, Mountain was the band of choice for many hard rock fans throughout the seventies.

Gaining mass momentum from their appearance at Woodstock in 1969, the band got in the studio and cut this masterwork with mega producer and Mountain bassist Felix Pappalardi (Cream, Hot Tuna, Jack Bruce), churning out soon to be smash hits that would be forever played on classic rock stations globally. Since Cream was no longer an entity, the great Felix Pappalardi’s affiliation with this groundbreaking trio surely paid off with his studio skills, production techniques and knowledge of working with sounds and elements that surely changed the way a lot of us listen to albums these days.

Tracks like Jack Bruce and Pete Brown’s Theme For An Imaginary Western and For Yasgur’s Farm would show not only the studio wizardry of the great Felix Pappalardi but also his unique vocal prowess and artillery like bass playing, which today is emulated by many, and made this album the masterpiece it is.

More burners like Leslie West’s delivery on Never In My Life and Sittin’ On A Rainbow showcase the brilliance of the man, the guitar and the voice which is equally important whenever discussing the talents of this superstar blues rock master.

Corky Laing and Steve Knight propel the band into realms not heard in years with their never tiring percussive drum and keyboard interplay. Just check out the hard work driving sounds of Silver Paper and Boys In The Band.

Even an acoustic side of Mountain enhances the masterwork with a pair of exceptional tunes To My Friend and The Laird, highlighting the acoustic and folk roots of both Leslie West and Felix Pappalardi.

Friday Music proudly announces The Mountain/Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Series with this first installment of the group's first album Climbing! Mastered impeccably from the original Windfall Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at
Friday Music Studios with Kevin Gray and pressed at R.T.I., this 1970 masterpiece is seeing its first time audiophile vinyl mastering as well as seeing vinyl PERIOD in almost four decades!

As part of this limited edition release, we are also including the original LP cover gatefold cover graphics, including the stunning artwork and photography not seen in years and the unique Windfall LP label artwork which was also a part of the whole package.

Let’s start the New Year right with Mountain and their smash album Climbing! A first time 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl release. Only from your friends at Friday Music... Next Up... Nantucket Sleighride.

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered from Original Windfall Records Tapes
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso with Kevin Gray
• Pressed at RTI
• First time 180g audiophile vinyl
• First time gatefold edition with original cover graphics
• This record was made to be played LOUD

Side One:

1. Mississippi Queen
2. Theme For An Imaginary Western
3. Never In My Life
4. Silver Paper
Side Two:
1. For Yasgur's Farm
2. To My Friend
3. The Laird
4. Sittin' On A Rainbow
5. Boys In the Band

Customers Also Like