Genre: Classical
Label: Esoteric


Mozart, Franck, Brahms Sonatas for Piano & Violin Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Augustin Dumay & Maria Joao Pires

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Featuring ESOTERIC's Proprietary Re-Mastering Process to Achieve the Highest Level of Sound Quality!
Japanese Pressing, Deluxe Digi-pak Packaging, THE definitive Classical Performance on SACD!

Violinist Augustin Dumay is accompanied by pianist Maria Joao Pires for this audiophile quality recording of sonatas by Mozart, Franck & Brahms.

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release.

Experience the legendary performance in this Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the "soul" hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

Technical: The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. ESOTERIC's flag ship D/A converters, model D-01VU, Rubidium master clock generator model Grandioso G1 and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • DSD Mastering
  • Made in Japan
  • Deluxe, Full-Color High-Quality Digi-pak Gatefold Packaging


Augustin Dumay violin
Maria Joao Pires piano


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Sonata for Piano and Violin in E minor, K. 304 (300c)
  1. I.Allegro
  2. II.Tempo di Menuetto

César Franck (1822-1890)

Sonate pour piano et violon en la majeur
  1. I.Allegretto moderato
  2. II.Allegro
  3. III.Recitativo-Fantasia (Moderato) - Molto lento
  4. IV.Allegretto poco mosso

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 78
  1. I.Vivace ma non troppo
  2. II.Adagio
  3. III.Allegro molto moderato

Recorded: July - August 1990, Fundacao Calouste Gulbenkian, Lisboa [Mozart]; September - October 1993 [Franck] & August 1991 [Brahms], München, Hochschule für Musik, Großer Saal

Customers Also Like