Genre: Blues
Label: Friday Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Muddy Waters King Bee 180g LP (Translucent Gold Vinyl)

Muddy Waters

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition 180g Translucent Gold Vinyl!
Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso!
Pressed at RTI!

Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield) will always be known as one of the founding fathers of modern day blues. His legendary style of playing guitar, his unique vocal prowess and of course his stellar list of classic Chicago and Mississippi Delta blues tunes have all gone on to influence generations upon generations of rock and blues performers worldwide.

With almost six decades in the music business, this Mississippi native began working in the late seventies with one of his biggest fans Johnny Winter, cutting his final four albums for Blue Sky Records, earning both the artist and producer both Grammy Awards for several of them.

Their final studio recording "King Bee", shows the artist and producer in very rare and rockin’ form. The 1981 blues smash features a plethora of Muddy Waters originals, as well as tip of the hat to Slim Harpo with Muddy’s classic rendition of "King Bee."

Featuring an all-star band with the likes of the legendary Johnny Winter on guitar, James Cotton on harp and the masterful Pinetop Perkins on piano, "King Bee" would go on to become one of the more revered and successful studio albums in Muddy Water’s extensive recorded catalog.

Kicking things off with one of his finest smash hits "King Bee", Muddy continues to rock the house through a treasure trove of 9 more blues champions which made this LP the classic that it is. The album features classic gems like his classics "I Feel Like Going Home", "Champagne And Reefer" and "Deep Down In Florida."

Noted for introducing his Chicago laden blues style to a whole new generation of guitar players, "King Bee" is just another example of how important this late blues master’s music was and still is to millions of fans across the globe.

Friday Music are proud to announce another installment in The Muddy Waters/Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series with his legendary final studio masterpiece "King Bee", now on super limited edition Translucent Gold audiophile vinyl.

"King Bee" has been mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso (Muddy Waters, Johnny Winter, John Lee Hooker) at Friday Music Studios and Capitol Mastering in Hollywood, CA.

To further celebrate this first time audiophile vinyl LP, this limited edition masterwork is enhanced with a stunning gatefold cover featuring the original artwork elements as well as rare inner photos, which show the man who helped fuse blues and rock music for millions of music lovers across the globe.

Featured musicians include Johnny Winter, James Cotton, Pinetop Perkins, Willie Smith, Charles Calmese & Bob Margolin.

"I will always consider Muddy Watters to be one of my closest friends. Muddy Waters referred to me as his son." - Johnny Winter, July 2014

• 180g Translucent Gold Vinyl
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios & Capitol Mastering
• Pressed at RTI
• Gatefold jacket

1. I'm A King Bee
2. Too Young To Know
3. Mean Old Frisco Blues
4. Forever Lonely
5. I Feel Like Going Home
6. Champagne & Reefer
7. Sad Sad Day
8. (My Eyes) Keep Me In Trouble
9. Deep Down In Florida #2
10. No Escape From The Blues

Customers Also Like