Genre: Alternative
Label: Sub Pop
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Mudhoney Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge (30th Anniversary Deluxe) 2LP


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Double LP!
Remastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service!
Featuring 7 Previously Unreleased Songs!

By going back to basics with their classic second full-length album Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge, Seattle group Mudhoney flipped conventional wisdom. Not for the first time - or the last - they would be vindicated. A month after release in July 1991, the album entered the UK album chart at Number 34 (five weeks later, Nirvana's Nevermind entered at 36) and went on to sell 75,000 copies worldwide. A more meaningful measure of success, however, lay in its revitalization of the band, casting a touchstone for the future. The record is a major chapter in Mudhoney's ongoing story, the moral of which has to be: when in doubt, fudge it.

The album began at Music Source Studio, a large space equipped with a 24-track mixing board - downright futuristic, compared to the 8-track setup that birthed the band's catalytic 1988 debut, Touch Me I'm Sick. The Music Source session quickly turned into a false start when the results, in guitarist Steve Turner's words, "sounded a little too fancy, too clean." Lesson learned, the band went primitive and got to work at Conrad Uno's 8-track setup at Egg Studio. Named after the cartons pasted on the walls in an optimistic attempt at sound-proofing, Egg boasted a '60s vintage 8-track Spectra Sonics recording console, originally built for Stax in Memphis.

So it was that, in the spring of 1991, Mudhoney made Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge. The resulting album is a whirlwind of the band's influences at the time: the fierce '60s garage rock of their Pacific Northwest predecessors The Sonics and The Lollipop Shoppe, the gnashing post-hardcore of Drunks With Guns, the heavy guitar moods of Neil Young, the lysergic workouts of Spacemen 3 and Hawkwind, the gloomy existentialism of Zounds, and the satirical ferocity of '80s hardcore punk. The quartet's special alchemy meant these fond homages never slid into pastiche. Ultimately, Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge epitomized the best of Mudhoney: here was a band reconnecting with its purest instincts, and in the process reinventing itself.

This 30th anniversary edition, remastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service, stands as testimony to the creative surge that drove them in this period. The album sessions yielded a clutch of material that would subsequently appear on B-sides, compilations, and split-singles. This edition includes all those tracks, and a slew of previously unreleased songs, including the entire five-track Music Source session.


  • 30th Anniversary Edition
  • Double LP
  • Remastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service
  • Original album in its entirety
  • 15-track bonus LP of additional material including 7 previously unreleased songs
  • Liner notes from Mudhoney biographer & MOJO journalist Keith Cameron
  • Gatefold jacket with new cover art
  • Archival band photos
  • Full-color fold-out poster


Side A:

  1. Generation Genocide
  2. Let It Slide
  3. Good Enough
  4. Something So Clear
  5. Thorn
  6. Into The Drink
  7. Broken Hands

Side B:

  1. Who You Drivin' Now?
  2. Move Out
  3. Shoot The Moon
  4. Fuzzgun '91
  5. Pokin' Around
  6. Don't Fade IV
  7. Check-Out Time

Side C:

  1. March To Fuzz
  2. Ounce Of Deception
  3. Paperback Life (Alt Version)
  4. Fuzzbuster
  5. Bushpusher Man
  6. Flowers For Industry
  7. Thorn (1st Attempt)
  8. Overblown
  9. March From Fuzz

Side D:

  1. You're Gone
  2. Something So Clear (24-Track Demo)
  3. Bushpusher Man (24-Track Demo)
  4. Pokin' Around (24-Track Demo)
  5. Check-Out Time (24-Track Demo)
  6. Generation Genocide (24-Track Demo)

Customers Also Like