Music of Spain 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Great Sounding Classical Title from EMI!

180g Audiophile Vinyl Cut from the Original EMI Stereo Analogue Master Tapes at Abbey Road Studios!

A champion of Spanish music, de Burgos is has recorded the complete works of Manuel de Falla, as well as notable recordings of non-Spanish music, like Orff’s Carmina Burana and Mozart’s Requiem. With a recording career spanning over five decades, many of his early recordings were made for EMI in the 1960s and this atmospheric recording of Spanish favourites is a splendid example.

Recorded on 4, 7, 9 & 10 January 1963 at Salle Wagram, Paris with legendary producer Victor Olof and engineer Paul Vavasseur.

The original December 1963 review in GRAMOPHONE (appearing somewhat inconsistent with the conductor’s name – he was born Rafael Frühbeck Frühbeck but changed his name on becoming professional to include the town of his birth – de Burgos) remarked: “...these are distinguished performances adding further to the excellent impression that Rafael Frühbeck has been making recently... The Albéniz Evocación, for example is most beautifully handled, with an unusually tender treatment of the ‘copla’ – quite the best recording of this piece so far... In this, as elsewhere, Frühbeck triumphantly demonstrates that the way to secure the authentic flavour of Spanish music, with its vivid, trenchant, virile quality, is not to lush it up... the ‘Rituel Fire Dance’ becomes far more menacing by reason of its measured control... the Paris Conservatoire Orchestra plays well for this conductor...”

This is a timely reminder of the many recordings made by the great Spanish conductor Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, who at age 80, announced his retirement from conducting, due to health reasons on June 4, 2014. “I have to recognize publicly that I have cancer,” the 80-year-old conductor said in a press statement, “and that in this state of health and with deep sorrow I am not able to conduct at my standards and the moment to quit professional matters has come.”

Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analogue master tapes with the Neumann VMS82 lathe fed an analogue pre-cut signal from a specially adapted Studer A80 tape deck with additional ‘advance’ playback head, making the cut a totally analogue process.

Pressed on 180g vinyl to audiophile standards using the original EMI presses by The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England.

• Hi-Q Records Supercuts 180g Vinyl
• Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original EMI stereo analogue master tapes
• Superior Audiophile Pressing
• Features original album artwork
• Made in England

Paris Conservatoire Orchestra
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor

Side One:
Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)

1. Danza ritual del fuego (from “El Amor Brujo”)

Joaquin Turina (1882-1949)
Danzas Fantásticas

2. Exaltácion
3. Ensueño
4. Orgía
Side Two:
Manuel de Falla

1. Danza No.1 (from "La vida breve," Act I)

Isaac Albeniz (1860-1909) (orch. Arbos)
from Iberia

2. Evocación
3. El Corpus en Sevilla
4. Triana

Customers Also Like