Genre: Classical
Label: Tacet
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition Half-Speed Mastered 180g LP

Markus Schirmer

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Half-Speed Mastered on 180g Vinyl! Inspiring Tube Sound!

Pianist Markus Schirmer performs the classic composition from Mussorgsky, Pictures At An Exhibition.

Half-speed is literally half the speed. But only during the production! When being played, everything runs perfectly normally again. This record requires no special treatment at all; it simply sounds better. It is as if the craftsman had taken twice as much time for his work. Not only the tempo is reduced at half speed, but also the pitch by a factor of 2. For example, a note of 40 kHz - Tacet recordings do indeed contain such high notes! - is transferred like a 20-kHz tone of a standard recording. Through this, electronics can process higher frequencies and the cutting stylus calmly cuts all the details into the lacquer foil.

The procedure appears quite simple. However, before it is cut, the signal still has to run through a filter - the RIAA curve, which lowers low notes and raises high ones. This technically necessary alteration is corrected in your system's phono-preampliflier. Unfortunately, the filter processes the wrong frequencies during a half-speed cutting, namely an octave too high. But we have also mastered this task. Convince yourself of the natural and unaltered timbres on this LP. Enjoy the refined difference between clarinets and basset horn, the soft cantilenas of the oboes, the huge color spectrum of the horns, the ensemble playing of the bassoons with the double bass.

• 180g Vinyl
• 1/2 Speed Mastered
• Inspiring Tube Sound
• B-side plays backwards
• Gatefold jacket
• Pressed in Germany

Markus Schirmer, piano

Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881)
Pictures At An Exhibition (1874)
Side 1: Play Forwards!

1. Promenade
2. Gnomus
3. Promenade
4. Il vecchio castello - The Old Castle
5. Promenade
6. Tuileries
7. Bydlo
8. Promenade
9. Ballet of the Chickens in their Shells
10. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
Side 2: Play Backwards!
11. Promenade
12. The Market-place at Limoges
13. Catacombae (Sepulcrum romanum)
14. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
15. Baba Yaga - The Hut on Fowl's Legs
16. The Great Gate at Kiev

Customers Also Like