Genre: Jazz
Format: 45RPM,
Size: 12"


Nat King Cole The Very Thought Of You 180g 45rpm 2LP

Nat King Cole

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the September 2010 Issue of Stereophile!

Mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at AcoustTech!

Click Here to read Michael Fremer's essay on the Nat King Cole Mastering efforts!

Nat "King" Cole and arranger Gordon Jenkins followed their hit album Love Is The Thing with The Very Thought Of You, foraging further into romantic and sensual bliss and creating the audio equivalent of a distillation of romantic ardor in a bottle. The sixteen ballads of The Very Thought Of You, each with their own euphoric tinge, include the title track "The Very Thought of You," "For All We Know," "Paradise," and "But Beautiful." Again orchestrated with the heavenly strings of the distinctive Gordon Jenkins, sympathetically backing the intimately expressive and supremely musical voice of the incomparable Nat "King" Cole, the result again stands among its era's finest, most stylistically defining recordings of popular music and continues to enchant listeners to this day.

Using the original 3-track session tapes from Capitol's vaults and all-analogue systems including custom headstacks, 3-track preview heads, console and monitoring chain installed at AcousTech specially for these releases, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman realize the stunning wide-range potential and beauty of these recordings. Original releases contained 14 tracks, omitting two superb tracks recorded for the album, "Don't Blame Me" and "There Is No Greater Love," due to space constraints, but the full 16 tracks are included in this double 45-RPM 180-gram album set. Included with this deluxe reissue is a striking six-panel booklet complete with rare photos, a 3,400-word essay by Chris Hall on the album and a 1,200-word essay by Michael Fremer about the remastering process. This truly is a no-expenses-spared project, resulting in the ultimate version of this title and a historic reissue.

Originally released in 1958.

• 180g 45rpm Double Vinyl
• Six-panel booklet with rare photos and essays from Chris Hall and Michael Fremer
• Mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at AcoustTech
• Contains two tracks omitted from original release

1. The Very Thought of You
2. But Beautiful
3. Impossible
4. I Wish I Knew (Notorious)
5. I Found a Million Dollar Baby
6. Magnificent Obsession
7. My Heart Tells Me
8. Paradise
9. This Is All I Ask
10. Cherie, I Love You
11. Making Believe You're Here
12. Cherchez la Femme
13. For All We Know
14. The More I See You
15. Don't Blame Me
16. There Is No Greater Love

Customers Also Like