Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Reprise
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Neil Young & Crazy Horse Way Down In The Rust Bucket 4LP Box Set

Neil Young & Crazy Horse

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

4LP Box Set!
First Live Performances Of 'Ragged Glory' Songs!

In the spring of 1990, Neil Young and Crazy Horse recorded at Young's Broken Arrow Ranch in Northern California. The resulting album, 'Ragged Glory', would be released later in the year on September 9th.

On November 13, 1990, Neil and the Horse performed at The Catalyst - the small bar in Santa Cruz, CA, that Neil Young occasionally played in the 1970s, '80s and '90s. The marathon show lasted over 3 hours and featured the band in tremendous form, playing three blistering sets. It would be the first time many of the Ragged Glory songs were played live, and notably featured the first time ''Dangerbird'' would be performed live - 15 years after it was released on Zuma.

The entire show was filmed and recorded by Shakey Picture's LA Johnson and is now being released as a CD, vinyl and DVD as ''Way Down In The Rust Bucket'' - #11.5 in Neil Young's Performance Series.

Way Down In The Rust Bucket is being released on February 26, 2021 as a 4 LP vinyl box set, a 2 CD set and a deluxe edition box set containing a DVD of the concert, plus 4 LPs and 2 CDs. At a later date a stand-alone DVD will also be released at NYA - Young's Archive website,

...[F]or those who consider the joyous stomp of Neil Young & Crazy Horse rock & roll comfort food at its best, this is a feast to savor, a long and rollicking celebration of the pleasures of turning up the amps and inviting in the spirit.
-Mark Deming,, 4/5 stars
This is a joyous record, where even the melancholy epics 'Like a Hurricane' and 'Cortez the Killer' skirt sadness. Crazy Horse lumber toward bliss, goosed along by a leader who seems so enraptured by his own solos he doesn't want to break the spell. Context also gives these seemingly endless workouts a different vibe. They're surrounded by garage rockers and reconstituted anthems of the counterculture, songs designed to be played and heard in a communal setting. For a dirty, grungy rock'n'roll band, there's no better place to hold communion than the local pub, where the separation between artist and audience can be so thin, it may as well be nonexistent. Maybe that's why Way Down in the Rust Bucket feels transcendent: It captures the world's greatest bar band in their spiritual home.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Pitchfork, Rated 8.1


  • 4LP Box Set
  • Neil Young Archives Performance Series
  • Live from the Catalyst, Santa Cruz, CA, November 13, 1990
  • 19 tracks, 3 blistering sets
  • First live performances of Ragged Glory songs
  • Mastered from original analog tapes
  • Box with lift-off lid
  • Textured artwork on front and back of box
  • Made in Germany


Disc 1

Side 1:
  1. Country Home
  2. Surfer Joe And Moe The Sleaze
Side 2:
  1. Love To Burn
  2. Days That Used To Be
  3. Bite The Bullet

Disc 2

Side 3:
  1. Cinnamon Girl
  2. Farmer John
  3. Over And Over
Side 4:
  1. Danger Bird
  2. Don't Cry No Tears
  3. Sedan Delivery

Disc 3

Side 5:
  1. Roll Another Number (For The Road)
  2. F*!#in' Up
  3. T-Bone
Side 6:
  1. Homegrown
  2. Mansion On The Hill

Disc 4

Side 7:
  1. Like A Hurricane
Side 8:
  1. Love And Only Love
  2. Cortez The Killer

Customers Also Like