Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Reprise
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Neil Young Eldorado 12" Vinyl EP

Neil Young

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

5-Track 12" Vinyl EP!
Originally Released in 1989 in Japan & Australia Only!
Mastered from 44/16 Digital by Doug Sax at The Mastering Lab!
Lacquers Cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering!

In April 1989, Neil Young released the 5-track mini-album Eldorado on CD in Japan and Australia under the name "Neil Young and the Restless". Neil (guitar & vocals) was backed by Rick Rosas on bass and Chad Cromwell on drums, with long-time Crazy Horse band-mate Frank "Poncho" Sampedro contributing guitar on the title track. The Eldorado EP is full of feral distortion and earthy crunch.

Long sought after by Neil Young fans, this wonderful album and guitar tour-de-force finally gets a worldwide release on CD, and the first US release on vinyl outside of Australia. Number ORS 21 in Neil's Official Release Series, the album is comprised of four Neil Young compositions, plus a cover of the American standard "On Broadway", written by Leiber, Stoller, Weil and Mann.

When this five-song, 25-minute EP was released in Japan in 1989, it served notice that Neil Young was capable of writing powerful songs and playing fierce rock & roll again, a fact confirmed by the subsequent release of the Freedom album. Three of the songs on Eldorado turned up on that record (including 'Don't Cry' in a different version), but 'Cocaine Eyes' and 'Heavy Love' did not, making this disc a necessary purchase for Young completists.
-William Ruhlmann, AllMusic
Probably the greatest guitar rock album ever
-Allan Jones, UNCUT Magazine


  • 12" Vinyl EP
  • Neil Young Archives Official Release Series
  • First Official US Release on Vinyl Outside of Australia
  • Recorded at The Hit Factory, New York, NY
  • Mixed at Fantasy Records, San Francisco & Redwood Digital
  • Mastered from 44/16 Digital by Doug Sax at The Mastering Lab
  • Lacquers Cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • Produced by "The Volume Dealers": Neil Young & Niko Bolas
  • Made in the Netherlands


Neil Young vocals, guitar
Chad Cromwell drums
Rick "The Bass Player" Rosas bass


  1. Cocaine Eyes
  2. Don't Cry
  3. Heavy Love
  4. On Broadway
  5. Eldorado

Customers Also Like